Tosh 32wlt68 and SkyHD output setting?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by latent, May 1, 2007.

  1. latent

    latent
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Toshiba 32WLT68 and a Sky HD box. Has anyone got this combo and can recommend the best setting for the SKY HD output i.e. AUTO/720p or 1080i ?

    Thanks
     
  2. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,038
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    I have a 32WLT68,great innit ? :smashin:
    Anyway,I find 1080i is best on SKY HD.
    If you use 720p or auto,you get a delay when changing channels,presumably whilst the TV process something or other (sorry,I'm not that tech minded).
    Try it and see what I mean.
    A delay,accompanied by a black screen and sometimes a flashing coloured bar.
    Very unpleasant.
    No such delay when using 1080i.
    You can happily flick between HD and non-HD channels without any delay or unpleasant 'switching'.
    I couldn't detect any difference in picture quality between the 720p/auto or 1080i anyway.
    The SD picture is great,the HD picture is stunning.
     
  3. kamy100

    kamy100
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +63
    I am having trouble with my settings as I am using normal sky, was wondering what settings you are using to get a good SD picture, Help would be appreciated.
     
  4. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,038
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    The settings I use won't work for you I'm afraid,as I am connecting via HDMI and you are connecting via scart.
    For example,I used to have to have the DNR and MPEG NR functions switched on when I was connecting with scart,or I'd get terrible picture issues.
    Since switching to HDMI,I have both those functions switched off and no picture issues.:cool:
    About the only things that people seem to agree on,whether you connect via scart or HDMI is;

    1/Contrast - max or close to max
    2/ Black stretch - OFF
    3/ M100 - ON

    Everything else,suck it and see.
    I would recommend you get HD as soon as you can though.
    Aside from the obvious improvement in picture when using an HD channel,the improvement in SD picture is worth having too.
    Honestly,my SD picture through HDMI is so good I sometimes watch a whole football match in SD without even thinking about it.
    Of course,when I switch to HD I go "DOH !"
     
  5. kamy100

    kamy100
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hey thanks mate for the reply. Yup deffo time to invest in Sky HD although going to hang fire until June as apparently Sky are meant to be bringing down the price of HD Boxes.
     
  6. Abbeygoo

    Abbeygoo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    25,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +10,149
    I have the WLT66 connected via HDMI and 1080i is the way forward! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...