Tosh 210e vs 510

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by petrolhead, Apr 12, 2002.

  1. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,485
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Is the 510 £200 better than the 210?

    Currently have Pioneer 535 but I would like component out.

    Will I notice much difference between the 2 as fas as picture quality is concerned.
     
  2. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have both players, the 210 for bedroom use and the 510 for my HT use.

    Kind of depends on what you're looking for in a player and what kind of kit you're viewing/listening to the player on.

    The 210 has the Zoran Vaddis IV chip, the 510 has the new Vaddis IVplus chip so there is almost certainly benefits there, although possibly slight.

    The 510 is a better looking player and, in A/B comparisons, does show a crisper, more defined image. Sound wise the 510 is more dynamic and feels 'quicker' than the 210.

    I also would edge towards the 510 as it offers progressive scan playback... maybe not something you can take advantage of now but the extra money will future proof you for a year or two if you move into the projector field.

    Also, if you buy online the 510 can be had for as little as £299 multiregion. The cheapest I've seen the 210 multiregion is £169, so it's really only £130 more expensive.

    To me, it's a no brainier... pick up a 510 :)
     
  3. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    I own the 510 and think it is great for the price, check out this thread here
     
  4. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,485
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Progressive scan play back?

    Not sure what that is. I have a VPL Cs1 projector but only with SVideo and Composite inputs although I may change it if I can find a buyer.

    On an other thread someone mentioned problems with S Video. Is this so?

    Ok read the thread. Thanks TIMH.

    Hmm difficult one. Since posting, spoken to a couple of people who think I will not see much picture difference between my old Pioneer 535 and the Tosh 210.

    The Tosh 510 has had a comment about the SVideo being crap??
    Also one disadvantage - Prog Scan in not pal.

    This leave me in a predicament so I am going to hang fire. Will probable buy the amp first as thats a shure thing :)

    PS Had to edit this again - must be pi**ed
     
  5. Whatts

    Whatts
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Petrolhead, check out www.progressivescan.co.uk for more info about progressive scan. Click 'articles' and you 'll find all the info you'll need.
    If you're going to upgrade to a newer projector, I'd make sure your DVD-player has a progressive scan output (even if this is only useful for NTSC source material)...

    - Tom -
     
  6. apexsec

    apexsec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As I`m thinking of upgrading my Tosh 2109 and being happy with the brand I am considering getting the Tosh 510 but can anyone tell me if it has an MP3 decoder for playback or will I have to go down to the Tosh 220 for MP3 but risk the more advanced features of the 510 . Is it really worth it ??
     
  7. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    I borrowed an MP3 disc of a friend and it played fine :)
    The Handbook states, it will play cd-r's of 650mb only. cd-rw not recommendable.
    sampling frequency: 44.1 KHZ only
    Bitrate : 32kbps-320kbps
     
  8. apexsec

    apexsec
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Tim ,
    I think the choice is a no brainer ----The 510 has to be the choice
     
  9. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    apex

    Its a great player, I am very pleased with it :)
    This is also my fourth player, and is leaps ahead in picture and sound quality from my previous players, the best £300 I have spent for a long time.
    Wait to you see the fancy on screen menu :)
     
  10. chris l.

    chris l.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    For Info:

    black / silver multiregion verisions of the SD210E (£169) & SD5810E (£259) inc vat and del from www.webelectricals.co.uk

    I've gone for the 210, just arrived and a-ok,

    Best prices I could find after lengthy search.

    Regards,

    Chris L.
     
  11. jasonlgriffin

    jasonlgriffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    chris l

    Do you know if the multi-region mod from webelectricals can handle RCE discs? I am just about ready to go for the 510E from there but there is no info on what the mod gives you.

    Any grumbles with webelectricals or the palyer you've got?

    Cheers
     
  12. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jason: it doesn't matter which mod you get done on the 510 as I believe the RCE problem isn't an issue on that machine.

    You won't regret buying one, that's for sure.
     
  13. chris l.

    chris l.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    jasonlgriffin

    I got the 210 and it’s wired up and all's a-ok.

    re RCE, I don't have any disk to test on the 210 and there is nothing in the manual either. Likewise iv'e no idea on the 510 and can't find any mention on the site at all.

    Give them a call 08790 90 76543

    For Info, I'm not at home at the moment so cant check, but I am sure the packaging had the Eletro Centre on it, which iv'e seen advertising in the various hifi mags, based in Birmingham from memory. Excellent service though and I got a black version (euro model) which is what I wanted to match the exiting kit etc.

    Regards,

    Chris L.
     
  14. jasonlgriffin

    jasonlgriffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chris L

    Just to clarify: you bought your DVD from webelectricals but you think the packaging had ElectroCentre on it? I've checked their web site as well and no mention of the multi-region mod. I've emailed both to find out.

    juboy

    Where did you hear about the 510 and its ability to handle RCE anyway?
     
  15. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871

    i have a multi region 1 510 from av4u and it playes my r1 charlies angels ok which is my only rce disc
     
  16. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jason: where did I *hear* about it?

    I own a Tosh 210 which did have RCE problems, my modded player needs a workaround (luckily a simple one) in order to play RCE discs.

    I also own a Tosh 510 which doesn't need a workaround and has not had the RCE protection removed by it's mod. Which, therefore, suggests it doesn't have the problem to start with.
     
  17. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    I also own the 510, I believe The R1 Babylon 5 disc is RCE and this played on mine :)

    From memory, RCE only effects players which use the remote hack, any players chipped should be OK, but dont quote me on this.
     
  18. jasonlgriffin

    jasonlgriffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I can see, the 510 comes with an "AV lead". Any idea what this is (I think the Tosh brochure said it is a component video lead)? Is this lead sufficient (I also have a Tosh 32ZP18 on order) or should I purchase a better component lead, and if so where is a good place to get this from (want good quality but not prepared to pay silly money for it)?
     
  19. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    The supplied cable is red white and yellow fo video and audio connection, this should work fine connected to your componant in on your tv.
    The Media Factory sell good quality Van Damme componant cables here email them for a quote, I payed £42 for a 10 metre run delivered.
     
  20. jasonlgriffin

    jasonlgriffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gone ahead and got the 510 from webelectricals so I can get it in time for my new ZP18 late next week!!

    I guess I'm just a bit new to all this, but I think I also need an audio cable as well! Should I go for coax or optical for mid-range quality.

    I've also got some DVDs on order (Shrek R1, Being John Malkovich R1, The Matrix R4). From what I can gather Shrek is the DVD of all DVDs at the moment - esp for wow factor (I've got friends to impress!).

    Is there anything else I'm missing or need to know - I want to be ready to go with watching a DVD when it all arrives!

    So far I think I can do this:
    - use the 510 bundled AV lead for component video
    - get an audio cable (which, where?)
    - wait for a while like an excited little child!

    Anything else?
     
  21. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jason: I personally use an Ecosse 'The Producer' co-axial lead from my 510 to a Denon 2802.

    As far as I'm concerned that cable is an absolute stormer and, in value for money terms, totally unbeatable. You should be able to pick it up for £19.99 or possibly less. Do search for it online or pick one of the many hi fi retailers that sell it.

    BTW, the lead that comes with the player is about as cheap and nasty as it gets. You would be well advised to pick up a better one... it doesn't have to cost the earth but will give distinctly better results.
     
  22. chris l.

    chris l.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    jasonlgriffin

    Just checked packaging and the "Inital City Link" barcode sticker etc has from "Electro Centre", no mention of webelectricals enywhere ?

    Chris L.
     
  23. jasonlgriffin

    jasonlgriffin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need to connect my Tosh 510 DVD to my Tosh 32ZP18 TV - audio and video.

    I am going to go for the Ecosse Producer (0.8m) @ £17.99 from cable-shop.co.uk. This seems to get better reviews over the Ixos 105 (?) and is cheaper anyway.

    I am also thinking of going for the Ixos 171AV Component Video (3 RCA - 3 RCA) cable which I have seen for £24.13 from directdistributionsales.com. Can anyone comment on this cable. Is there a better/similar one for around the same cost.
     

Share This Page

Loading...