1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Torn between the Panasonic AE700 and the ScreenPlay 5700

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by redquicksilver, Jun 16, 2005.

1. redquicksilver

redquicksilver
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dear all,

Please can you offer me some advice, I know this subject will have come up hundreds of times in the past, but I have spent some time scanning articles and have not found a relevant one on the forum.

I have been researching projectors for several months now, and just when I think I am about to make a decision something goes and spoils it!

I thought I had my mind made up on the ScreenPlay 5700, as all the reviews I have read say that it is the best projector for the money you can buy.

However, many people talk about the Panny AE700 as being the best, and when I recently purchased the 'Home Cinema Choice - Best of 2005' this week, they have put the AE700 as the best budget projector you can buy, and the 5700 doesn't get a mention in any of the classes!!!

Another concern of mine is the shortfalls of the 2; LCD screendoor vs DLP rainbows. Both projectors state that they have just about sorted the problem and both defects are not visible.

Both are 1280 x 720 res, and offer the same contrast.

So please, please, please, has anyone had experience with both projectors and how do they compare? Is the additional £800 on the ScreenPlay worth the money?

2. moosie

moosie
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    ... but had been looking at these two myself before I bought.

Screenplay 5700 for less than main dealers here though it may be b-stock:

http://www.luzerntech.com/catalog/index.php?currency=GBP&seo_string=Home-Theatre-Projectors&cPath=35