Topfield TF5800T and sound, 5.1DD etc?

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by spook, Jun 3, 2005.

Tags:
  1. spook

    spook
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi all, just ordered a toppy :thumbsup: , noticed that it has an optical digital audio out, does this mean that some Freeview channels have more than stereo sound?

    cheers, Spook
     
  2. CosmosD

    CosmosD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dover
    Ratings:
    +7
    Don't think any freeview channels broadcast anything more than stereo at the moment so although the Topfield will output a digital signal it will still only be stereo. Something for the future though hopefully.
     
  3. asgura

    asgura
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been here albeit with a Humax. As another poster has said, Digital Terrestrial transmissions in the UK are not in Dolby Digital. Therefore you will be as gutted as I was to find out that the Digital-out port is pretty useless, not only now but probably for years to come.

    Don't despair however as most worthwhile programs are encoded with Dolby Prologic/II. This means that if you have the appropriate decoder (or Home Cinema DVD player) then you can connect your stereo outputs to it and enjoy 5.1 surround sound. (I'm not sure if you can use the DD out for PLII).
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The topfield outputs stereo PCM or dolby digital as broadcast. Well OK there is no DD yet, but there might well be. The ability to output digital is an advantage, the difference in audio quality is obvious between analogue and digital on my system. The D/A conversion is done in my amp that way, and fine though the Topfield is, it can't beat my Onkyo amp.
     
  5. mark.king

    mark.king
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have just recieved the topfield and although the pic is great I do find the analogue out not as good as my nokia frieview box. Shame there is no coax digital as I don't have a 4metre optical cable. By the way who does optical cables this long? Cheers
     
  6. MattB

    MattB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex,UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try CPC

    I use the 10m one, works great.
     
  7. mark.king

    mark.king
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +1
    crikey thats cheap. Thanks for that
     

Share This Page

Loading...