1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Top three" and true HDTV?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by CraigHolt, Jun 13, 2005.

1. CraigHolt

CraigHolt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so I have done a little research (as I am a complete Home cinema novice!) and am (predictably) coming down in favour of going for either the Hitachi 42pd7200, "Panny PV500" as it seems to be affectionately known, or the Pioneer 435 XDE.
    All are said to be HD ready. However, the resolutions are 1024 x 1024, 1024 x 768 and 1024 x 768 (I think) respectively. As I understood it, to be truly HD and not to require scaling down the resolution has to be greater than 1280 x 720 (for 720 HD) or 1920 x 1080 (1080 HD).
    Does that mean these screens will not produce proper HDtv or will the difference due to the scaling be unnoticeable? And (really stupid question probably) is 1024 x 1024 better than 1024 x 768 or is there no discernible difference?
    Would ppl suggest I go for one of these three now, or wait a couple of months - in other words is anything major and in the similar £2000-2500 price bracket - due for release? Finally am I defeating the object if I hook one of these screens up with a relatively cheap DVD player? What is the minimum spec on a DVD player I should be looking for in order to get my money's worth from my screen?
    Thanks in advance for any help you can give me!!
    Craig

2. CraigHolt

CraigHolt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, so maybe I asked too many questions in one post there to encourage anyone to reply - ignore the latter questions then, please just help me with the hdtv resolution issue - is it right that these screens will not produce true HDtv?

3. andypearce

andypearce

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8