1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Top Black bar = Reddish ???

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Stu Ward, Jul 11, 2005.

  1. Stu Ward

    Stu Ward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Now then, i find this quite a weird one

    On certain scenes, the black bar across the top of my Plasma goes sortof reddish.

    I feel it could be a fairly crappy SCART lead going from my DVD player to SKY +. SKY then goes via scart to a Scart - Componant convertor to the panel

    If i swap the leads i get the same effect, but i would expect so

    Could anyone confirm my doubts ?

    Stu
     
  2. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +646
    Sounds knackered.
    What screen is it?

    What happens when you put up a black screen? do it whilst the room is dark, it should look black, with no blue, green or red tinge to it at all.
     
  3. Stu Ward

    Stu Ward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Black Screen, no signal = 100% Black Screen



    Screen is a brand New Panasonic TH-42PWD7BK
     
  4. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Greyscale inaccurately set, black level incorrect? ISF calibration will put this right!
     
  5. Stu Ward

    Stu Ward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Its funny cause if the screen is light at the top it tends to bleed into the black bars. If dark, then it looks perfect


    Stu
     
  6. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Still say greyscale is wrong.
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Piers is right, I've seen this too. Mine used to do it with video upconversion, and I spent ages blaming the amp. The problem went away after using DVE to 'calibrate' but Piers will do a much better job than that.
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    I'd look to see if any power saving options are on. If they are then that may cause the shift in black level and if greyscale is innacurate....which it will be.....you may see this issue.

    Gordon
     
  9. Stu Ward

    Stu Ward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2

    Whats DVE ?
     
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    It's Digital Video Essentials. It's a set up DVD that you can buy from Piero Milani on this forum for around £10 and it'll help you get a better image on your plasma...


    You can also buy it elsewhere....from Amazon etc....but I'd recommend Piero.

    G
     

Share This Page

Loading...