Too all those who have recieved their 360 HD DVD Drive

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Voy06, Dec 18, 2006.

  1. Voy06

    Voy06
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +82
    I was just wondering, I am not connected too Xbox Live nor do I have any plans too connect to Xbox Live so I am just wondering does the Xbox 360 HD DVD Drive package come with a set-up disc with updates too enable the drive.

    I am asking because I've heard that you need an update before/after connecting the drive too the 360.

    Thanks guys.
     
  2. gtcarling

    gtcarling
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    CRAWLEY
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yes it comes with an update disc.
     
  3. Voy06

    Voy06
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +82
    Sweet, thankyou.
     
  4. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    you get an update disc, but this only gives you what the fall update gave you, ie allowed the 360 to allow the drive to work, you will still need another update, i got this when i put in my first disc and i downloaded it via xbox live. You can get it from microsofts website and burn it to a disc, you will need it to get the advanced features of some discs to work ie the "ucontrol" feature
     
  5. Voy06

    Voy06
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +82
    Hi Chic, do you have a link too the page on the Microsoft website that contains the necessary update you mentioned?

    Thanks.
     
  6. pyrotenax

    pyrotenax
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    977
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    47
    Location:
    Omnipresent
    Ratings:
    +154
  7. Voy06

    Voy06
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +82
  8. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871

    you will need to connect the hd drive to your 360 before installing the update as you will be updating the hd player as well as the 360
     
  9. Sasso Palmieri

    Sasso Palmieri
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +33
    I simply ran the update disc and have been playing HD-DVDs since. I haven't got Live.

    Additionally, there's nothing in the instructions to allude to the second update, so why do I need it?

    The link to the update in the FAQ in inactive.
     
  10. T800

    T800
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +154
    I think certain discs have certain updates or so I've heard.
    I know you don't want to play on LIVE but having the 360 connected for updates shouldn't be a problem or is it ?
     
  11. Sasso Palmieri

    Sasso Palmieri
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +33
    Router/modem, headset and subscription costs are what put me off. Well over a hundred quid, if I'm not mistaken.

    Are there any settings for the drive itself? I've checked on the System settings in the dash, but nothing. There was speak of DD True HD versus DD but I can find no choice for either. Playing MI:III last night, the disc only gives language choices.

    Am I missing something?
     
  12. Spence29

    Spence29
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    So you're all up and running then and you don't have any problems without the lastest update from MS?

    I ask as I have acquired my HD DVD Player today and wasn't sure of what to do and, maybe more importantly in what order to install these various drivers/updates :lease:

    Will be burning via the net NOT Live it's only 13mb
     
  13. Sasso Palmieri

    Sasso Palmieri
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +33
    I simply ran the disc, connected everything and voila! The update comes before any you connect the HD drive.

    However, I did get an update from the Gears of War disc, although I don't know which one it was, nor what it did.
     
  14. Spence29

    Spence29
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yeah, I've had a few updates with some games too.

    Don't laugh at me but seeing as I'm at work now and don't have the manual to hand....in which drive do you run/install this "Disc" the xbox 360 or the dvd hd player
    :oops:
     
  15. MI55ION

    MI55ION
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5,876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +703
    In the 360 console.
     
  16. Urien Rheged

    Urien Rheged
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,660
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +864
    The manual says you must install the disc in your 360 before you even connect the HD DVD drive.
     
  17. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,963
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,474
    Sorry for the OT here, but seeing as they brought it up:

    You don't need either a headset or subscription to connect to Live Silver - it's free. Plus the router's not necessary unless you want to connect when your PC is turned off. You only really have to buy the ethernet cable and you're good to go*.

    Only if you want to play multiplayer games do you need Live Gold, and you have to pay for a sub - but even then it's only £20 per annum if you buy from eBay.

    So your range of prices is from £5 for an ethernet cable to connect to Live Silver via your PC, to £60 tops for a decent router and 12 months Live Gold. Headset optional, but again look on eBay for about £10.

    * Note: would be more if you want to go wireless though.
     
  18. Sasso Palmieri

    Sasso Palmieri
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thanks.

    My PC is two floors up and connected to the net via a long extension lead, currently.

    My laptop is connected via Wi-Fi but I have no desire to spend on extra equipment for the 360, plus it's too far from the phone point to run cables sensibly.

    I may be interested in a silver account for demos/live arcade in the future - are these available?

    However, I have absolutely no desire to play over live.
     

Share This Page

Loading...