Tonearm alignment help needed please

wz4jc3

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody.

I have an SME 3009 S2 Improved tonearm with a fixed headshell on an ERA Mk6 turntable. I have been looking into the setup of this arm, but I have to be honest and say, I'm a bit confused.

I'm happy with the balance and cartridge weight set, but I really need some advice on the alignment for the cartridge; I have a Shure V15 III cartridge fitted.

Do I need to calculate the null points for the arm/cartridge, or does a protractor deal with this for me? Do I need a specific protractor for this setup and how is it used?

Apologies for the vagueness of my message, but as you can tell, I am new to this.

Any help would be gratefully received.

Thank you.

Vinyl Engine is a great resource.

Essentially you need to decide what sort of alignment you want to go for (if you aren’t inclined to get into all that, just go for Baerwald) and then find an alignment protractor on the link provided by Ugg10 corresponding to the effective length of your tonearm.

You can print it off (make sure it prints 1:1 scale!) and very carefully punch a hole where marked, so you can fit it over your spindle.

Remove the power supply from your turntable to prevent any accidents...

The alignment protractor will have the null points marked on it, 2 of them, each within a set of grid lines. It should have a guide-line that has to point at the the exact centre of the point where your tone arm pivots, then you know that the protractor is perfectly positioned. You need to loosen off the cartridge bolts in the headshell (loose enough so that you can just about move the cartridge about, but tight enough so it stays where it is if not being deliberately moved - you may need to loosen a little and partially re-tighten for each little tweak)