TomTom for SE P1i??

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by history, Sep 4, 2007.

Tags:
  1. history

    history
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Is there anything available yet? Currently in the process of upgrading from N80 :boring:which has TomTom installed and fancy some thing completely different, being the SE P1i:thumbsup:.

    Just wanting to know if any sat nav apps available for it?

    thanks
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    what OS does it run? My P990i runs tomtom 6 even tho the tom tom site says no........ have a google and try some the unofficial SE websites/forums
     
  3. thefunkmiester

    thefunkmiester
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +1
    I coudnt get tomtom5 or 6 to work on my P1i so plumped for wayfinder 7, 69£.

    Its a lot different from tomtom but I'm getting used to it....

    Apparently tomtom6 only works on s60 nokias, and the P1i works on UIQ3 IIRC.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    P990i runs UIQ3 i think so it should work but can be tricky
     
  5. apolloa

    apolloa
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,350
    I brought my P1i sim free and it's running the Irish CDA (Firmware) as their's no UK firmware yet.
    But I've had TomTom 6 running absolutely sweet as a nut since day 1. The bluetooth is fantastic with my GPS module and you can swap applications leaving TomTom running in the background fine. In fact, I really am amazed at the difference between the P1i and the P990i.

    The TomTom version I have is: 6.021 which as far as I know isn't the latest version.

    Hope this helps.
     
  6. thefunkmiester

    thefunkmiester
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hull
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thats weird cos when I tried installing 6.021, it stated "software not compatible". I wonder what I was doing wrong then...
     
  7. smokedog

    smokedog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +411
    I just tried TomTom Version 6.02 and it doesn't work, it installed it but wouldn't open the application.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    what version are you using? (there are differnet version on the CD)
     
  9. apolloa

    apolloa
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,350
    I just coppied all my files across in file transfer mode onto the memory stick, then unplugged the phone and it asked to install the app, did so and it runs fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...