To split or not to split?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by azz, Jul 4, 2005.

  1. azz

    azz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +22
    Hi,

    Is it better to use a splitter or attach 2 coax cables to the same arial directly?

    I am using the arial for freeview and there are a lot of trees.

    If splitter better why and which one to buy? £1 or £12


    Azz
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Use a splitter, preferably an aerial amplifier with 2 outputs. Never attach two cables to an aerial - it can cause all sorts of problems.
     
  3. azz

    azz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +22
    Nick do you meen a signal booster in a room that is powerred or an expencive splitter?

    How much should i pay?
    :lesson:


    Azz
     
  4. hog

    hog
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    hi
    i think he means a 2way amp(booster) that is mains powered,that would be best for your situation. cheers ant ps around 10 to 15 pounds probably have them in bnq
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Something like the RT68Y from Maplin for £17.99
     
  6. azz

    azz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +22
    Nick and others,

    I do not realy want to boost the signal with a powerred splitter; is a non powerred splitter going to be better than attaching 2 coax to a high gain arial and if not what problems am i likley to get if i do have one or the other?

    Azz
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    With a non powered splitter you will lose more than 50% of the signal from the aerial down each cable. If you connect more than one cable to an aerial you can set up "standing waves" within the cables which can actually cause a cancellation effect which could lose you groups of channels.

    Digital channels are broadcast at a much lower power than analogue ones, so it is not advisable to use a non-amplified splitter unless you are in a really strong signal area, and you have already said that you have a problem with lots of trees.
     
  8. azz

    azz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +22
    Thanks nick,

    No choice except for a standard spiltter.

    What about 2 high gain arials on one pole fed 1 coax each or will each arial interfere with the other?

    Azz
     
  9. richardys

    richardys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why don't you want to use an amplifier? Surely its the best solution.

    If you put another high gain aerial up it won't interfere with the other aerial but it probably won't have the same signal level.
     
  10. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Two high gain aerials with separate coax feeds would probably work OK, but I can't see why you don't want an amplifier ? It would work out cheaper than 2 aerials.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice