To receive or not? Should / Do I need an AV receiver?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by mrgrill, Mar 23, 2006.

1. mrgrill

mrgrill

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi people,

First things first. I'm a noob to all this. I've done plenty of searching and reading, but would like a direct response to my query if any kind soul is willing to help / advise.

I'm in the process of upgrading all my AV equipment.

Current setup is:
    Crappy CRT 28"
    Xbox [soon to be soft modded] - so will use component
    Cheapo DVD [£30 - don't really watch DVDs tbh] - scart only I'm afraid
    Sky+ PV3 - use Scart connection

I'm likely in future to get an Xbox 360 or PS3 and also Sky HD.

My first step is to get a new HD ready plasma in the next month or so. But as I'm redecorating the lounge, I'm toying with the idea of getting an AV receiver and Surround sound speaker package as I've never enjoyed this.

My question is should I get an AV receiver to hook up my equipment to the Plasma, or should I just run it all to the TV directly? From reading most threads in here, most people seem to think that direct Video connections is the best thing to do and not through an AV receiver and to just hook up sound to these?

My situation is that I would like:

1. To be able to switch source easily. The setup has to be G/F friendly. By that I mean my other half should be able to work the setup when I'm not around. I'm concerned that having Video sources direct to TV and Sound to an AMP, my bird won't be able to get it all working? Would this setup also require you to swtich both AV on the plasma and Audio sources on the Receiver, in order to get both sound and video?

2. I don't want to spend too much cash. I know this sounds silly, but I don't have a mega budget. Ideally, I'd like a decent cheap AV receiver [ capable of upconverting I guess?], and also a small black 5.1. speaker packages [Too match the room] - all for less than £500 :eek: