1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

To Photoshop or not? The Poll.

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by stevegreen, Dec 16, 2004.

1. stevegreen

stevegreen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +984
    I'm no photoshop expert, in fact i know virtually nothing about it, but, having had a bit of a play with it the other night I started to realise just how powerful this software is.

My 'ear' picture that I have submitted this month was transformed with a simple auto balancing of colours etc. (i'll upload it soon and link it here so you can see the difference), so, the burning question is.......

Should image manipulation be allowed in the Photo Competition?

At the moment it's limited to simple red eye reduction and sharpening/blurring. I personally agree with a comment made by Geordie Jester that over manipulation isn't a good idea ( he quoted sticking the Taj Mahal behind a pic :laugh: ) but, colour correction etc can make a massive difference to the 'quality' of the picture.

I wanted initially to just keep it a simple photo competition without PS savvy entries making it impossible for less savvy people to have a chance at winning (myself included in that by the way), but, my guess is that most entrants will have some idea on digital photo manipulation, so why exclude it.

As I don't know the program very well, i will have to leave it to those more familiar with it to suggest some limitations, without making it complicated :lesson:

So, what do you think, it's our competition, it's all for a bit of fun, it's all designed to help us learn and get advice, should we relax the rules? Either Yes or No, no mid ground :)

2. Mylo

Mylo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +372
    My vote is yes, but not excessive amounts of manipulation.

3. JayX

JayX

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +30