1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

to good a price to turn down?

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by paulst10, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,500
    as im after a new amp, i thought id ring round for a price match
    the first company i rang quoted me £1100 for a avr300 brand new,
    out of 5 companys i phoned, only one could match it
    i think this has got to be too good a deal to turn down
     
  2. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    Hi Paul,

    As with any special deal to be had, it's just a case of bearing in mind the future support of the product being bought if required.

    I.e. if a problem occurs, how easy/difficult is it to return and get a repair, or if a software upgrade is required (and you are not comfortable in doing it yourself) will they do it for you, if you want to upgrade in the future, will they do you a special deal as you are a previous customer.

    I like the piece of mind of knowing my dealer is fairly close for these reasons, having using them for software upgrades twice (they supplied the software, I upgraded at home), and got a good deal on changing from an A80 to P90/3.

    Obviously this is still not practical for some if a dealer is not close to hand. And it's not as if Arcam have a bad record of failing equipment, but it's just something to bear in mind.

    Must admit though it sounds like a good deal.

    Cheers

    Andy
     
  3. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,500
    thanks for the reply

    both the companys that agreed that price are reasonably close to me, the closest being a 20min drive away and i have purchased from them before, and their after sales service is second to none, but im not sure whether they have applied software upgrades before... i will have to ask them when i ring them tomorrow, so i reckon i have to go for it
     
  4. Timmy C

    Timmy C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +200
    That's a good price assuming it's not ex-demo. As most people on here will tell you, current Arcam models aren't usually found 'going cheap'! If it's what you're after then buy and enjoy!
     
  5. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,500
    i did ask if it was ex-demo, he insisted that it will be brand new and he will have to order it from arcam for me
     
  6. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    In that case, bite their hands off :smashin:
     
  7. allinthemind

    allinthemind
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    And make sure the box is still sealed
     
  8. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    Can I ask who it is you are getting it from? That sounds like a very good deal, particularly for a new boxed product. If they are selling for that price I might be interested myself.
     
  9. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,500
    check your p/m crustyloafer
     
  10. Timmy C

    Timmy C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +200
    You've already got one and I would have thought you can get them cheaper anyway!? Surely you don't pay retail prices for your own kit do you Crusty!!?
     
  11. Dean_S

    Dean_S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've a nasty feeling that Crusty is about to report to Arcam the dealer which is prepared to sell it at that price. I got mine (high street) for £1100 - don't bother asking where. It just goes to show the margin on Arcam gear is quite large. It seems that some dealers become offended by others selling it at a lower price.
     
  12. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    No not at all. They can sell it for whatever they want. That's a great price, definitely worth going for at £1100.
     
  13. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    I was only winding him up. I'm always interested to know who's doing what. Besides if he is a long term customer of that store and has a good rapport then I think a good discount is warranted.
     
  14. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    I didn't say earlier, I got mine for £1170 from my dealer, Audio-T, brand new also, as part of their sale prices last year. So there are deals to be had out there, and £1100 is a cracker :thumbsup:

    Cheers

    Andy
     
  15. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,500
    i rang them this morning to give them the go-ahead. he confirmed again that it will be brand new un-opened box, which i will pick up saturday :thumbsup:
     
  16. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    Good man, welcome to the Arcam club. It will defacate on the AX3i from a very high height in performance terms.
     
  17. bl0498

    bl0498
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I managed to get a new sealed box AVR300 for £1100 in January from Audio Excellence in Gloucester when they were closing the shop down....

    Brian
     
  18. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,500
    all sorted, picked it up yesterday, it was brand new un-opened.

    so far i am very happy with it and it hasnt been run-in yet
    just one question... can u switch it to stereo direct using the remote??
     
  19. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    You can't with the supplied remote. There is however a discrete RC5 command that can be entered into a progrmmable remote that can do this. I have my remote sey up this way. There are also discrete RC5 codes to go directly to a specific surround mode, rather than scrolling through them. You will find a list of the codes available on page E-32 of your manual.
     
  20. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,500
    thanks crustyloafer, i will give it a try
     
  21. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    Can I ask how you are finding the 300?

    I am considering upgrading from a AX3 myself and would welcome any comments!
     
  22. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    11,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,500
    with music i heard sounds that i never heard with the ax3, with more detail and clarity, the sound is a lot warmer and not as bright as the ax3. i also found the settings much better for stereo mode ( you can have the fronts set to large+sub and use direct mode without a sub ) you get the best of both worlds then... some music sounds better without a sub.. IMO

    with movies i have only watched one since setting it up... the last samurai, i thought the sound was more composed and subtle when needed, you can hear every little detail. the bass definately has more weight to it, speaker steering is much better. and speach is more clearer and less harsh.

    i will be trying various "bits of films" today will let you know more later
     

Share This Page

Loading...