1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

To any MCE High Definition lovers

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by tim k, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. tim k

    tim k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stumbled across this update;

    http://www.newzbin.com/browse/post/1464065/

    Got me thinking, so i tried to open a .ts file in mce. and WOWOWOWOWOW the highest quality truest colours i have ever seen on my plasma. This has got to be the most stable driver i have ever used on my htpc. and anyone with alike setup MUST try this update from MS. Even the dd5.1 sounds better. strange but when you think ive been using media player classic and vlc player which essentially are extremely low budget progs, you can bet your bottom dollar MS have pulled out all the stops with this one. No 3/2 pan judder, no audio stutter, no fuzz, just a crystal clear picture which almost made me puke!!

    great stuff MS
     
  2. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    how do you get media center to play them. an explanation would be nice, the .ts files show up in media center but they do not play, just a black screen and an error, some update....
     
  3. tim k

    tim k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    im just using the nvidia dvd decoders, mce2005 and the new rollup drivers play .ts files in mce fine for me.
     
  4. rogeralpine

    rogeralpine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you get MCE2005 on it's own?
     
  5. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    No MCE 2005 is a version of windows XP which has the Media Center application integrated.
    And no you cant just install the application in regular windows xp its fully integrated you must buy the retial or OEM version "Windows Media Center 2005"
     
  6. BGoff

    BGoff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Alperton
    Ratings:
    +7
    i've not yet tried this update, but my mce play .ts files anyway. im using Nvidia pure video dvd decoder and ffdshow. i find the .ts files brilliant quality in mce, will be nice ifthis improves it further. Am i right in thinking it doesn't ike compatible with pure video though

    EDIT:Opps, just read the board his is in, i linked to it and guessed it was in the MCE board
     
  7. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    the nivideo decoder can not play all .ts files only some. and sometimes it won't even play them. best decoder for playing .ts files with meda plyer/center is the elecard mpeg 2 decoder, but even then you have to tweak it to get the right settings...believe me i've used all the decoders, for standalone .ts files playback, hands down the best player out there in WinDVD 7, in terms of performance and quality, no player can touch it.....even gets rid of that grey bar at the bottom...., you need to rename the .ts files to .mpeg and then associate windvd to open them, and they will play everytime...
     
  8. tim k

    tim k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    due to about 3 system reboots im very cautious about which decoder to install. using my 6800gt ive found things become very unstable if you load elecard/ffdshow/nvidia all together.

    with nvidia alone i never got .ts playback, but flawless in mpclassic. the new mce update improves things further with as i said the best ive ever seen. it really is leaps and bounds above dvd. but unfortunately not many people are experiencing true hd, whether it be a poor decoder, incorrect resolution settings, or even the quality of the file played.

    with the us hd dramas im getting i really see what all the fuss is about
     
  9. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    tim k,

    What display device are you using?
     
  10. tim k

    tim k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    running dvi - hdmi into my pd7200. coupled with kef 5005. mega cinematic experience.
     
  11. rogeralpine

    rogeralpine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thought as much - cheers!
     
  12. ginoworm

    ginoworm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +41
    do you get the delay between .TS files like most of the hardware players do or is it seemless??
     

Share This Page

Loading...