TMPGEnc Authoring Works 4

Bob++

I just downloaded a trial of this program and it converted my .mts from my Panny SD700 into a .VOB that would happily play in Media Player pretty quickly. (It was a short clip though)

There are some editing tools - Menu, transitions, etc that i didn't try yet.

The full version is $80 so I wondered if anyone else had experience of it before I invest my hardearned.

Bob++

Still using the trial - I have successfully burned a clip to DVD which played happily in my DVD player.

I have never done any editing before so it takes me a while but i will now try to add music and subtitles.

Kookaburra

Standard Member
I have the TMPGenc 3 version. Works very well, but despite all the possibilities it offers the final DVD does not look any better than what my Video editing programme does. DVD's are not HD, and are more or less museum articles. I only ever burn one for sending to friends overseas, but for viewing on your HDTV there are far better methods. Nero does a good job too, but has the annoying habit of converting everything, even if you have already converted it.

Bob++

I have the TMPGenc 3 version. Works very well, but despite all the possibilities it offers the final DVD does not look any better than what my Video editing programme does. DVD's are not HD, and are more or less museum articles. I only ever burn one for sending to friends overseas, but for viewing on your HDTV there are far better methods. Nero does a good job too, but has the annoying habit of converting everything, even if you have already converted it.

Version 4 will burn BR as well. I just want a simple editor that will do the job on an antique computer.

Kookaburra

Standard Member
Version 4 will burn BR as well. I just want a simple editor that will do the job on an antique computer.