Tmpg Help

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by SIP, Sep 9, 2004.

  1. SIP

    SIP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NORTH YORKS COAST
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sorry if this has been asked before.

    I recorded a Film from tv last week onto RAM, then used TMPG to convert it to a dvd file.....no problems.
    I did the same again last night, using the same disc, but when I put it through TMPG, I get the message "Illegal video file....you can only use Mpeg1 video or Mpeg2 video". Seems strange, I have done nothing different to what I normally do, and have not had this message before.....Any suggestions.

    Thanks
     
  2. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,364
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +146
    I had a similar problem and before anyone says, it doesn't matter if you have your recorder set to 'fixed' or 'auto' resolution (if you have a pan machine). Should make no difference, althogh 'fixed' is generally the better option.

    Sometimes afte a reboot it would eventually accept the disk.

    Now TMPG just doesn't like anything I give it so I gave up on it.

    I now use Ulead Video Studio or DVD Workshop to import from RAM with no problems.
    You can download a trial version from www.ulead.com or there may be alternative software that will convert VRO.

    DON'T just simply rename it to a mpg file either. This can cause problems with some software and most certainly with TMP.
     
  3. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Warwick
    Ratings:
    +2,282
    Copy the file onto your HDD and then try importing it. If you still don't have any luck very carefully clean the DVD-RAM disk as this could be what is causing your problem. If all else fails then try importing into TMPG 3Xpress.
     
  4. SIP

    SIP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NORTH YORKS COAST
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks Kevo

    When I have had the message "mixed video format" from TMPG, I have re-recorded and changed the settings to "fixed" on the panny. But I have never had this message before - and I dont see how changing the VBR causes the file to be changed.
    I will follow your advice and try the unlead product. Does it differ vastly from TMPG?

    Thanks
     
  5. SIP

    SIP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NORTH YORKS COAST
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks also Rasczak
    I will also follow your advice on transfering to HDD.
    TMPG is such a good product in many ways, but it aint half picky!!
    BTW - Does anyone know if the Unlead product causes the picture to pause slightly if you edit with it, like TMPG does.

    Thanks again
     

Share This Page

Loading...