1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TM 5/7 Selection.

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by gwc, Feb 1, 2005.

  1. gwc

    gwc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,

    I am having trouble selecting the Tag Mclaren Surround modes when watching a DVD that outputs 2.0 Surround, specifically the X-files Series. When I cycle around the surround modes TM5/& is missing from the selection.

    I have Sky+ connect via the Audio Digital out and that seems fine.

    Is this just finger trouble or it there a problem.


    Cheers

    gwc
     
  2. PhilB1234

    PhilB1234
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this may be because TMS can't be applied to an already encoded (e.g. Dolby/DTS) stream. It's only usable with analog or digital stereo sources.
    I may be wrong, but that's my understanding.....
     
  3. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    GWC

    I'm away for a few days so I can't check. Do you get DD+DPLII Movies and Music? I know that works on mine for DD2.0 discs
     
  4. PhilB1234

    PhilB1234
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    One other thing to be aware of is that the TMS modes are designed for music, with subtle centre and rear use, whereas the PL2/2x Movie modes are there to make the most out of Dolby encoded broadcasts/discs. As the X-Files series were all created with a DPL (and in later series DD5.1) soundtrack, I would expect DPL2 to provide a better result than TMS in this instance.
    Obviously it's a matter of preference in the end.......
     
  5. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    It all depends on the AV processor in your system...

    The AV32SP cannot apply TMS to a 2 channel Dolby Digital encoded stream.
    The AV32DP or AV192R can apply TMS to a 2 channel Dolby Digital stream.

    If the processor is not offering the format then it's not possible on that platform.
     
  6. gwc

    gwc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for all the replies.

    Kenny
    I can get DD+DPLII Movies and Music. Does DPLII use the sub if available (as it doesn't sound like it)?


    Stevesky
    My Tag is only a SP :( I am afraid.


    Cheers

    gwc
     
  7. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    GWC

    It think it should use the sub, but I don't know and can't check for you 'til the weekend. :confused:

    I think I've integrated my sub very well and sometimes wonder if it is actually on :p

    I'd love to have my AV32 DP'd so I could benefit from TMREQ
     

Share This Page

Loading...