1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tivo has this, does Sky+ ?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by tomacwhite, Dec 20, 2003.

  1. tomacwhite

    tomacwhite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +21
    One cool feature with Tivo is that if you turn your TV on and you see you have missed 20 minutes of a show, you can press record and it will start recording from the start of the programme. Coolness.

    I know you have instant rewind on Sky+, but if you rewind a live programme will it also be recording it for you too for future use?
     
  2. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    Optionally, yes.
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    So you switch on the TV for a program (That isn't included in any season pass/favorites or matches a previously created criteria) on BBC1 for example and you have missed the first 20 minutes and then TIVO can magically recorded those 20 minutes you missed after they have been broadcast ?
    I think not:)

    I assume that TIVO uses it recording buffer to record only 1 channel which would have been the channel it was left tuned to or a program that was part of it's menu to record as setup by the user.

    TIVO owners, please correct me if I am wrong, I accept the TIVO OS is far more reliable and flexible than the SKY+ OS but it isn't psychic:)
     
  4. tomacwhite

    tomacwhite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +21
    On Tivo if you have missed 20 minutes of a programme (that was tuned in but your TV was off) if you press record it will record it from the start. It uses the buffer that is constantly on, and saves it for you like a normal record.

    Just wondering if Sky+ did the same.
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    That is what I thought you meant, but that wasn't what you said.
    Don't mind me, I'm just being picky:)
     
  6. browellm

    browellm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +7
    With TiVo of course, it's _always_ recording, even in standby mode, so yes as long as your vcr/freeview/sky box was tuned to the channel you wanted it will have recorded the previous 30 minutes.

    The new Sky+ upgrade afaik, now has a 1 hour buffer, but as I understand it still does not record if the unit is in standby for any reason. Someone please correct me if I am wrong.
     
  7. Senninha

    Senninha
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +9
    Well, think again. Actually it can, pedantically speaking.

    Irrespective of whether something is in "season pass/favorites or matches a previously created criteria", if the TIVO is on the channel you switch on to, and you want that program, pressing record wil simply preserve the buffer on the disk as a recording.

    Of course it can't allow you to switch to another channel and recreate what was once on there - but that's not what you said :D
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    Which is more or less what I said in the second paragraph of my original post which you have quoted from.
    Going pendantically overboard now:laugh:
     
  9. WeirdFish

    WeirdFish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    And yes Sky+ now does that too.
     
  10. tomacwhite

    tomacwhite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +21
    Cheers people :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...