Tivo + Freeview box VS Topfield 5800PVRT

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by gsic, Jul 6, 2005.

  1. gsic

    gsic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have a Tivo with an old Pioneer OnDigitial box just now. The Pioneer is crashing a lot, specifically on E4 and needs a hard shutdown to get it working again. WAy to much hassle and a real irritance when I goto watch a recorded show and find I just have a static image left on the screen :(

    Have been toying with the idea of getting Sky+, but I really cant justify the cost of it all to watch just a few channels. Then I thought about upgrading the Pioneer to a Netgem iPlayer, but after reading around and seeing that it is riddled with bugs, I aint to keen on that one anymore, but the component output seems a nice feature...

    So, I have now decided it would be a good idea to sell the Tivo and the RGB2Component box and buy a Topfield 5800PVR. Seems like the box is the one to get and comes with a huge 160gb HD already installed and I would assume is easily upgraded. Also seems like the box can be "tweaked" a bit with the TAPS and future upgrading...

    So what are peoples thoughts on this??

    G
     
  2. gsic

    gsic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    anybody got any thoughts on this ???


    G
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    There are a number of threads on the Toppy in the PVR and VCR forum:)
     
  4. Maff et1

    Maff et1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is also a seperate site dedicated to the toppy - www.toppy.org.uk with it's own forums.

    I am very happy with my toppy - I've never had a tivo so can't compare the two.
     
  5. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will regret selling your TiVo :nono:

    There's nothing that come close in terms of functionality or ease-of use. And of course you can upgrade it to 800gb and add a network card for controlling it via the internet and/or direct extraction of video to your PC if you want to :smashin:
     
  6. gsic

    gsic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    if it could record 2 channels at once and offer excellent pic quality compared to a topfield, then i would be happy...

    but as it stands I have only just started using it again after a year off from watching TV. I do love Tivo, but I can't stand the fact that Tivo have pulled out of the UK and are unlikely to resurface any time soon. If and when they do, i'll gladly goto a HiDef Tivo or similar as they have in the US, but until then, I believe a toppy is the way forward and is less clutter in the home Cienma room :)

    G
     
  7. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Have you tried setting Mode 0 on the TiVo? This gives a massive improvement in PQ!

    So why were TiVo at a UK trade show a month or so back??????

    Mark.
     
  8. blindlemon

    blindlemon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...and why have they just upgraded their UK EPG servers? ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...