1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TiVO and Plasma - is it me ?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by dUnKle, Jun 12, 2004.

  1. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    Well as an aside from my calibration thread I thought I would try something different after still not being happy with the TV picture on my new Hitachi 42PD5200


    Assured that there was no problem with the TV after a great DVD picture I removed the TiVO box from the loop and connected the SKY directly to the TV via RGB Scart

    Its brilliant

    as an example


    watching the Portugal Vs. Greece match

    Via TiVO

    Red button icon bleeds badly and seems to smear to the right
    the grass seems very edgy and enhanced on the lines
    far shots of crowd look smeared
    grass blurs as the camera pans

    Via Sky direct to TV

    Everything is sharp and fine
    no bleed on that red button
    no blurring or smearing
    slight edge to the grass, but thats all


    Is it possible to correct this ?
    does anyone here experiance same ?
    whats best deal on Sky+ :)
     
  2. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    It's not you - My Tivo did the same on my 40" RPTV a few years ago, went to sky+ and never looked back
     
  3. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    thanks

    Sky+ it looks like it is then

    anyone know why this is
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Have you set your TiVo to RGB. If not you will see a marked improvement. If so, then I guess you need Sky+. My TiVo looks stunning on my plasma.
     
  5. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    yep - its set at RGB - connected via QED Scarts

    looked at the TiVO forums and it seems its a common problem :( apparantly (not sure on technicall gubbins) but the contrast, brightness and color suffers from being "enhanced" and also color bleed - also mentions that blocking is a problem :(

    looks like I need to find £200
     
  6. LDJ

    LDJ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    587
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    Ditto. Mine looks stunning on my 42" plasma :clap:
     
  7. Deron

    Deron
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    You'll get about that for your Tivo...
     
  8. Maninblack

    Maninblack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    Mine too, do you notice a BIG difference when tivo is plugged in, and you press the AUX button?
     
  9. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    yes HUGE difference

    look at example at start

    loads of bleed and blocking via TiVO
     
  10. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    I'd say there's something wrong with your TiVo as I have never (in 3 years) experienced anything like you are describing.
     
  11. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think I know what the problem is!

    During normal TiVo "Live" viewing, TiVo is still processing all the picture just waiting for you to pause the picture. While this is fine, it's still going via a process. But there's a solution....

    Hit the "AUX" button and this bypasses the "Live" part giving a much better and cleaner picture. If you need to pause the TV, just hit pause as it's still in the buffer. Just that using this bypass gives better quality picture but still keeps the TiVo buffer running. Obviously, you'll then have "Live" picture quality until you press Aux again.

    Also, ensure you have RGB for input and output. Once you change the settings, power down TiVo to do a complete reset.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  12. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    its the TiVO - sad but true

    I have had it for 3+ years and on my old 32" crt it was great - but the problems now are too much too live with :(

    TiVO forums seems to have people who had same problem - looks like it shall soon be gone
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Stick it in the classifieds, I know someone who'll bid for it.
     
  14. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    Probably THE silliest question ever, but how do I trade on here then

    Never done it before

    DOnt have credit card so dont have pay pal facility

    Would have to be cheque - and I dont fancy posting it out til the cheque clears - probably not many who would fancy that
     
  15. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Still odd that Messiah (who I'm sure is more critical about PQ than most) finds his Tivo fine

    Fault with a certain batch / model number possibly ?
     
  16. LDJ

    LDJ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    587
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    I watch mine via the Tivo feed (as opposed to the AUX bypass) and experience none of the abovementioned problems. Its certainly not a fault common to all Tivo's. Maybe its a display problem with the Hitatchi?
    Tivo looks immense on my PWD6 :smashin:
     
  17. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    Tried loads of things - maybe im being too critical

    tried it on my mates Fujitsu Plasma and also for the first time via my Panasonic projector - problems are actually the worst on the Panasonic

    maybe its a combination of things - seems some experiance problem and some dont - TiVO forums certainly seem to acknowledge the problems with RGB on TiVO and many users there actually have switched the RGB off

    ill take the plunge and go for the one box solution
     
  18. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    I'm not saying there's a problem with TiVo via Live mode, just that you can get a better "Live" mode if you switch over to the Aux mode. I think TiVo is a great system, very well built.

    LDJ,
    How do you have TiVo connected to your plasma?

    Although,

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  19. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    scart cables

    QED scart from Sky to TiVO and then QED Scart from TiVO to TV
     
  20. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    SCART in to a plasma isn't always the best way, I'm sure that others will tell you how our Plasma VGA unit can help over certain screen's standard input. I'm not sure what can be done to improve the picture further on the Hitachi though. It might be worth trying component input vs the SCART to see which gives you the best quality and take it from there.

    All the best,

    John.
     
  21. dUnKle

    dUnKle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    13,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,319
    Thanks guys

    Resigned myself to getting Sky+ now though

    I only had a "tiny" demo of my set before purchase - most of that was the Sky box in local store and a DVD

    There where none of these problems with that
     
  22. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    TiVo is still better if you want to be able to go back and view events, such as motorsport where someone crashes. Even the fact that when you fast forward through a bit of video it blips back slightly when you hit play is so handy I don't know why nobody else seems to do the same.

    However, Sky + is excellent too. The ability to record one channel while watching another is a killer feature, and with the ability to record two concurrently just icing on the cake.

    All the best,

    John.
     
  23. swarrans

    swarrans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not a faulty batch, but a "feature" of it's functionality.
    Tivo does process the signal when it records (and when watching live TV) and does look "a lot" worse than the direct signal (when you press "Aux" as noted by Dr John).
    Where I would disagree with Dr John is saying it's not a problem (if you have a large screen and want to watch the recordings). The definition of "a lot" worse is very personal - the smearing and blushing clearly do happen as well as rather poor handling of smoke/misty scenes - but on smaller screens some people may not notice or even prefer the increased contrast/colors levels that Tivo processes in.

    Tivo is a fabulous piece of kit, but I have to say that when I upgrade to a large plasma I personally won't be able to live with the picture degredation and will sell it (at an enormous profit!) and get a hard drive DVD recorder then.

    Simon
     

Share This Page

Loading...