1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

time to upgrade.....already?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by hamtaro, Aug 31, 2003.

  1. hamtaro

    hamtaro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    been using a denon 1802 for over a year now and as it was a cheapy[250.00] im beginning to feel that i can get more out of my set up. i know the old saying you get what you pay for, but when i started to build this system i only had 1000 to play with. i managed to get the 1802, 2 pairs of mission 773e,s, 77c1, all the cables etc. this year i spent a further 200.00 on the velodyne vx10. i feel now the 1802 is a bit weedy sometimes. i know that you can get yamaha a1 or a2,s for under 500, is it worth me actually shelling out again or or my ears getting a bit to choosey?
     
  2. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +260
    Depends what you are wanting to improve. If your happy with surround duties and want better stereo for music you might want to add an integrated amp. What sources are you using dvdp,cdp etall? Could be that they are the limiting factor and not the amp.
    If your wanting more omph for movies then an upgrade to the AVR3803 or similar might be worthwhile. I have the 3802 and i'm very happy with it movie wise but was frustrated with the musicality hence my addition of an arcam a75+ integrated amp and CD72t cd player. I feel I have the best of both worlds now.
     
  3. hamtaro

    hamtaro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    its a bit of both, i dont bother with music[ my wife does] she says it is not as loud as movies. on the movie side of things, i think the 1802 is a good starter [ like the yamaha a5] but i feel i need more oomph.
     
  4. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    Think about the Marantz Range also, you should be able to get an SR7300 for under £500. I believe some of the New Nad's AV stuff is very good also, for stereo especially.

    Your best bet is get to a shop and have a listen they are your ears and you are the only one who can say for sure if it is worth the money.
     
  5. rogeralpine

    rogeralpine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got the Mission 77's series and they were powered a while back by the A5. I sort of upgraded to the Sony 1070 (looking to give 6.1 a go in the main) and was really surprised how much of an improvement it was over the A5. If the 1802 is similar to the A5 then an upgrade will definitely improve things for you as the speakers really should IMHO be coupled with a better amp.
     
  6. hamtaro

    hamtaro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the 1802 has served me well, but i somehow think my missions could be better paired up with a better amp.im not bothered about ex, 6.1, etc only 5.1 and dts, and i dont need a radio facility.
     
  7. kocl

    kocl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    PORTUGAL
    Ratings:
    +13
    my situation is a bit like yours, i have an yamaha RxV800 and Kef Q5. i'm happy with movies, but with music i want more. I'm looking for an integrated amp. My cd player is also yamaha.
    I just ear arcam 85 and rotel 1070. They are fabulous.
     
  8. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Hamtaro

    If your looking for an upgrade and like the denon make i'm selling a AVC10SE THX ULTRA for £500
    Its 5.1 and can do DD and DTS,even EX,ES if you add a 2 channel amp to it.
    5 star reviews in all the magazines

    regards
    mark
     
  9. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    THXUltra - if only I didn't have a burning desire for all things 'Servo' you'd have my money :)

    As it stands an amp upgrade will have to wait a fair while...
     
  10. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm sure you could find that little bit extra dimmy ;)
     
  11. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't tempt me!

    If I did make an offer it wouldn't be for at least two weeks, by which point I'm almost certain it'd be gone :(
     
  12. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    If your offer is £500 then i would keep it for you till your ready in 2-3 weeks.

    regards
    mark
     
  13. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't find your thread in the Classifieds forum anymore - is courier delivery an option?

    I should be able to let you know by Monday if I'm able to make an offer - providing it can be sent as opposed to me collecting it.

    Another question - does it support Neo 6?
     
  14. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh and, is it in gold or black?
     
  15. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Dimmy

    The unit is black and it does not have neo 6.
    Courier would not be a problem have sent a few things before.
    Took it off the classifieds about a week ago,if you want more info go to www.denon.co.uk then go to products,then discontinued products and you'll find it there Denon AVC10SE.
    Also haven't got original box but have everything else.
    Also review can be read at www.homecinemachoice.com

    regards
    mark
     
  16. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not too bothered about the boxing or anything, and I have ways of getting around the PLII/Neo 6 ommision I guess...

    The only forseeable problem is it's in Black, and I'm a gold-lover (so to speak).

    There's a gold one on sale in the forums for the same price - as I said, I'll get back to you on this :)
     
  17. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ok Dimmy hear from you soon :smashin:
     
  18. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay - providing I can get the money together (which I'll probably know on Monday), I'll probably be offering you the asking price then (but, I hasten to add, I'm not at this very moment!).

    I have half - it's just getting the other half together :D

    Still worried about losing PLII though :eek:
     
  19. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    No worries dimmy,let me know when you can :cool:
     
  20. hamtaro

    hamtaro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry to butt in but i may still be interested..............
     
  21. hamtaro

    hamtaro
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    and i definetly want black, as present amp is gold!!!!!!!!
     
  22. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    As dimmy has not made a definite offer yet i can sell to you if you make me an offer before him

    regards
    mark
     
  23. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hamtaro - if you NEED black then make an offer, as I don't NEED gold but I'd really like gold, as my DVD2800mkII's gold :)

    Plus there's a gold one for sale in the classifieds forums I have my eye on, this thread might be beneficial for all involved yet...
     
  24. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Guess its up to Hamtaro then,but still feel free to offer on monday dimmy if i dont here from hamtaro as you showed interest first.
    regards
    mark
     
  25. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will - would you recommend trying to track down the matching 2 channel power amp for the surround back channels?

    Would my AVR1803 be okay - or a dedicated stereo amp?
     
  26. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Dimmy

    Dont really no much about the other denon,i would probably get a decent 2 channel amp something around 2x150 to match the other channels.Think rotel have some decent 2 channel stuff

    regards
    mark
     
  27. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me again :D - and another question :)

    Can the THX Post Processing be applied to sources on the EXT Input???
     
  28. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Dimmy

    The ext input is use for external decoders and the AVC10SE is only used for amplification so no thx processing can be used because the external decoder is doing the processing.
    Hope this helps :cool:
     
  29. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay - wasn't sure that's all - I know it's a feature on the A1SR, so it can be done.

    Thanks for answering :)
     
  30. thxultra

    thxultra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    Okay Dimmy
    This is how i run my system at the minute as i only use the denon as an amp.
     

Share This Page

Loading...