Quantcast

Question Time-lapse over 2 weeks best camera tethered indoor?

fozziebear39

Hi
I would be grateful for your help please. I need a solution in the next few days please, cheers.

I am an artist and need to create a time lapse of me making a piece of art which will take two weeks. I work flat on a table and the camera is overhead on the ceiling.

I have used a webcam before, to a Mac Mini, and that worked great, apart from the picture quality (640 x 480 resolution). I need a solution to make a possible 4K resolution film? I don't need a camera with a time-lapse system, I just need to take a series of stills and I can convert them after into a time-lapse. I will manually trigger the shutter.

I need a remote shutter as the camera is out of reach and a live preview with possible USB or WiFi instant upload to the Mac Mini. (I need to make sure I have the files on the computer and backed up as I go along)

I am looking at wifi compact digitals. Canon and Panasonic Lumix have an iPhone App which sounds like it will do what I want. The only problem I see is battery life. The camera will have to be permanently plugged in, either charging or USB, and not auto shut off. I don't really want to have to turn the camera on every few hours risking moving it.

I am looking at around £200. (I know DSLR's will tether but too expensive unless I hire or buy second-hand)

Has anyone any recommendations please? Or alternatives? Tethering with USB seems more solid to me than wifi and I believe Go-Pro's can take good stills and be tethered.

wysinawyg

And to add while I'm here - the way you light the work space will make far more difference to the quality than you will get between using an iPod Touch and a pro-DSLR. Especially when you're looking to turn it into a 4k movie anyway.

fozziebear39