Time capsule and Time machine - two questions!

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by ben2579, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. ben2579

    ben2579
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    I was originally planning on adding a 2tb WD HD to my airport extreme to create a DIY time capsule. However I have now read that this is not supported by apple. IS this correct?

    IN which case I was then considering a time capsule and wanted to know if Time capsule would back up External USB Hd drive plugged into the mac? There is so much written about this online - pages and pages - some saying yes and some No. Does anyone know the definitive answer or has anyone managed this themselves.

    So far I have wasted hours trying to get to the bottom of this, the apple store employees were the least helpful and did not seem to have a clue!!!

    Thanks Ben
     
  2. Tenex

    Tenex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,063
    Its officially an unsupported feature - the historical story is quite amusing - but essentially, yes you can hang a volume off the AE and use it as a TM backup volume.

    Apple won't confirm or deny it because it would trash sales of their TC. Its how I've set up a neighbour's iMac recently and it works without a problem.
     
  3. ben2579

    ben2579
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Ok and presumably it is quite simple to do??

    Thanks for clearing that up.

    Any ideas about backing up external USB hdd.

    Ben
     
  4. fat jez

    fat jez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,670
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +889
  5. ben2579

    ben2579
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thanks guys that is I think what I will do but part of me had kind of started to convince myself that I needed a time capsule!! Oh well I guess i can't justify that in the AE method works ok.

    Any thoughts on backing up the external USB drives?

    Ben
     
  6. fat jez

    fat jez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,670
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +889
    I believe it will if e external drive is HFS formatted. You may also need to remove the external drive from the list of excluded files and directories in Time Machine.

    I haven't tried this myself, it's the result of me searching on google.
     
  7. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    45,629
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,864
    I think the requirements for TM compatibility are HFS+ with journalling?
     
  8. fat jez

    fat jez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,670
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +889
    You could well be right, I only did a quick google search, as I stated in my post.
     
  9. ben2579

    ben2579
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Thanks for all the replies. Looks like its a plain old external drive for me then! Can't really justify time capsule. Last thought - has anyone who set up time machine via AE used a portable hd or does it need to be powered?
     
  10. fat jez

    fat jez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,670
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +889
    It doesn't need to be powered, if it's a laptop style drive, I ran mine like this for a while. If the drive can be powered by a single USB connection to a PC or laptop, then it should be capable of being powered by an AEBS.
     
  11. ben2579

    ben2579
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Been looking at external hd's and each time I keep coming back to look at Tc - it's only x amount more and I can probably sell the AE 2nd gen for a little bit. What's wrong with me!!!!
     
  12. bpsmith

    bpsmith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +709
    Nothing wrong by preferring a cleaner uncluttered solution. The new TC and Extreme offer better signal quality than the previous models so you will gain there too. Good second hand values to be had too and might not work out that expensive once you sell the old one. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice