1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Timbre match speakers

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Rob KSA, Feb 4, 2003.

1. Rob KSA

Rob KSA

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am an absolute newbie, but after 3 days of reading the threads I am ready to start my home theater. I work in Saudi Arabia so my choice for receiver are not much, the speaker almost none except to buy bose that I have actually intended to buy until I've read your advices here.

I have decided to buy the new pioneer VSD d2011. I intend to build a 7.1 system. My plan is to buy 2 B&W DM 602/S3 for front and ASW600 for sub. I also intend to buy either the LCR600/S3 or the LCR60/S3 for front center. Now because of budget constraint, while I understand that ideally I should be buying an additional 4 602/S3 for my rear surrounds to built a 7.1 system, I am considering buying the lower end DM303 or DM302 (4 pcs) whatever is available in Bahrain. Before I plunge and go scout for these B&W speakers in Bahrain, I would be interested if I will be building an incompatible speakers by using the DM300 series for the 4 rear speakers.

Thank you in advance, please be gentle, this is my first post. :(

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Voice matching is more important over the front three speakers but in my opinion less important at the rear. You are intending to buy rear speakers from the same manufacturer which are probably voiced fairly closely to the fronts wheas in my system I have M&K at the front and Mission bipoles at the rear and it doesn't sound too bad.

3. wilber

wilber

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +30
    Welcome to the forums.

What can I say except 10/10 for ambition!!!!

Knowing nothing of your circumstances makes it difficult to hel, but I'll have a go anyway!