1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tidying Cables - Advice Needed

Discussion in 'AV Stands, Cabinets, Seating & Furniture' started by nheather, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,191
    I'm planning my cinema purchase and the sticking point, believe it or not, is the stand.

    I will have 6 components to host which amounts to some 30 cables :eek:

    The thing is, cables are untidy and should not be seen (instructions from the wife).

    My original thoughts were an Alphason or Optimum but worried about the cables being in plain view I started looking at wooden units with backs.

    I have now spent the last week search furniture shops but with no luck. There are lots of units but very few able to accomodate six units / full width units / the height of an amplifier. Pine is not acceptable, nor is cheap looking stuff (like Ikea, Argos) - again instructions from high command.

    So back to the Alphason/Optimum - how do you guys make the cables tidy and unobtrusive ?

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  2. dvdsubtitles

    dvdsubtitles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just my tuppence worth....

    I have seen many people on this forum using plastic conduits. it's much easier to hide a conduit than a mess of cables.

    Also, you can buy zip-ties easily from Maplins - these are a very cheap and easy way of binding the cables together and tidying them up a lot. Bind all data/signal cables together if you can, and bind all power cables separately. Don't mix power with data/signal cables.

    Also use good quality cables so there is no signal interference between cables when they're tightly bound together.

    I believe you can get specialised wooden hi-fi furniture which has proper conduits and cable routing enclosures built-in, but its very expensive. Most of us tend to use IKEA stuff and a bit of DIY :D

    As for those fancy glass stands and hifi units, what I've seen a lot in the HiFi/Home Cinema magazines is that people create an empty space under the floor behind the stand, and all the cables are routed straight down under the floor. Power cables and sockets can also be located under the floor.

    Cheers,
    Mat.
     
  3. mikatt

    mikatt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm using a Atacama Equinox stand and experimenting with cutting a suitable piece of coloured mountboard mounted behind the units with slots for cables this simulates a removable back it wedges in quite neatly.


    Mike
     
  4. Knightshade

    Knightshade
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi Mikatt,
    You'll have to post some photo's if it works out!
    I'd like to see how you've done it.
     
  5. bobbypunk

    bobbypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some alphason racks have cable management tubes and most have at least a cable management hole system.
    Other companies I know offer cable management (tubing etc) for their racks are Stands Unique and Spectral.
     
  6. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
  7. Knightshade

    Knightshade
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +43
    Good Link,
    Cheers:smashin:
     
  8. David_of_Surrey

    David_of_Surrey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    A cheap solution I've used is to make some velcro cable ties. eqasy to install and remove.

    Go to a fabric shop (one that sells zips buttons etc) buy one length of 20 mm wide self adhesive "hook" velcro and a similar length of "loop" velcro, the colour you use is up to you but I use black so as not to show the dirt

    pull off the backing tapes and stick the Hook to the Loop, (be carefull that you align carefully as once its stuck thats it) then cut into lengths of approx 8 inches long.

    easy to use, simply wrap around cable and the velcro sticks to itself.

    Cheap too it works out at approx 30p per tie

    Dave
     
  9. Knightshade

    Knightshade
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +43
    Nice idea! No risk of pulling to tight and crimping the cables either. :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...