1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thx test screen

Discussion in 'TVs' started by jem, Jul 13, 2003.

  1. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've read about this test screen but can someone explain how to use it please?

    I have "Star Wars - Attack of the Clones" DVD. Where is it on this dvd please?
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +937
    You need to look for the THX Optimizer feature (small silver THX logo). I think it's under the SETUP or OPTIONS section.
     
  3. shawkins002

    shawkins002
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Epsom, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's under "Languages" on AOTC.

    Go in to the video tests and use skip + to work your way through the tests. I alsways thought there was just one screen until I pressed the skip button by accident........
     
  4. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Found it thanks.
     
  5. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    Next question - How do i access the service menu on my tv to correct the geometry ? ;)
     
  6. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes it would be but having searched the forum I couldn't find anything on the Philips 6515. I seem to be missing a bit of the picture at the bottom.

    On my other set I'm missing a bit of the picture on the left and the bottom - JVC AV28R25.

    As both are still under warranty, perhaps an engineer might be best? I've got one coming tomorrow for the Philips set.
     
  7. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    I wish you luck with Philips. I had a minor geometry issue that required adjustment, Philips advice was to 'take it back to the vendor' as my first point of contact.Fine, exept it was purchased from a large supermarket chain and i knew they would be unprepared for a service matter.I contacted Philips and explained the situation and if they were prepared to provided me with a means of access to the service menu then i would attempt to correct the geometry at my own risk.Philips were adament that i return the set to the supermarket.Philips got a returned set unnecessarily and i got the purchase price refunded ... altogether an unsatisfactory deal for all concerned.
     
  8. jem

    jem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    It was bought from QED. They've put me in touch with a company who are sending an engineer out tomorrow. We'll see what happens.
     

Share This Page

Loading...