1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thx amp

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ajoshi, Dec 2, 2002.

1. ajoshi

ajoshi

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

I have choosen marantz 9200 receiver as my amp to go with my marantz 8300 dvd player. As i am new to home cinema and want to build a system around THX sound system I would really appreciate your thoughts on my combo.

I like to use them as my music as well as my movies. I like to crank the volume up and have a wide range of cd's from classical to hip hop.

Thanks.

2. Matt F

Matt F

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi - I've already answered your question on the hifichoice forum - here's a cut and paste of what I said:

Your choice of DVD player and amp look fine to me but I'd also grab a listen to a Denon A1SR if you can. It might also be worth investigating the processor + power amp route - something like the Rotel RSP1066 plus the 5 channel RMB1075 and 2 channel RB1070.

The KEF THX speaker package is very good indeed, although you'd be looking at two pairs of 34DS dipoles (or one pair of 34DS and a pair of RDM1's) for a 7.1 system. The only caveat is that they (specifically the 23F's) are not particularly good in a stereo role - this is not a fault - they are THX speakers and designed to work as part of a front three - they are not supposed to image well in stereo. One might also argue that the 45B sub, whilst being great at bashing out the low stuff for movies, is not a hugely accomplished sub for subtle musical duties.