Three stereo integrated amps for 5.1?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by salk31, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. salk31

    salk31
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've setup a HTPC and, apart from that foolish step, I'd like to keep things as simple and flexible as possible. I'd like to have as few remotes and settings to fiddle with as possible.

    Would it make any sense at all to use three, possibly second hand, integrated stereo amps, for a 5.1 setup?

    My logic being that:
    • I won't have to worry about integrating HTPC and AV amp
    • Only one remote (for HTPC)
    • Can upgrade/replace one bit at a time
    • If it is stupid I can use amps for something else.
    • Bulk is not an issue as can be hidden in a cupboard
    • Can have better amp for two channel CD/MP3 listening
    Really stupid?

    Cheers

    Sam
     
  2. salk31

    salk31
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe three cyrus ones? They seem reasonably compact and good size. The multi room amps seem nice (compact and auto power down) but silly price.
     
  3. BigTone

    BigTone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,341
    I would think that the one major problem your going to run into is that of calibration. Your 5.1 soundcard will output the 6 channels ok, but the speaker positioning, volume levels, distance to the sitting position etc, all need to be calibrated, or its going to sound like mush!

    A second hand AV amp that can do all this for you would be very cheap (especially as everyone is switching to HDMI amps, lots of non-HDMI available for little money).

    BT
     
  4. salk31

    salk31
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks BigTone,

    I definitely need to do some research about how well the XP drivers/software will let me control delays and volumes...

    Could you give me a good example amp to start looking at? (sorry to be so greedy) I guess SPDIF would make most sense as interconnect but my understanding is that that way I can't control volume from the PC without decoding/encoding... With six analgue phono sockets I'm in trouble trying to find sound card that doesn't produce hideous noise with poor DACs.

    Cheers

    Sam
     
  5. salk31

    salk31
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...