Thoughts on this setup please

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by MelodyMae, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. MelodyMae

    MelodyMae
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,472
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +412
    Hello all - Can i have opinions on whether this setup will be good enough for todays games please

    ACER 3641
    * Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700
    * 4Gb RAM
    * 500Gb Hard disk drive
    * DVD-RW
    * Nvidia 8600GT 256Mb Graphics card
    * Dolby Home Theatre
    * Acer 22 inch monitor

    However, i will be upgrading the graphics card to (possibly) a Radeon 4850 or 4870. Im also aware that i would need to upgrade the power supply if i was to upgrade.

    Thanx a lot for any opinions :thumbsup:
     
  2. Neorion

    Neorion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +66
    The graphics card change should get you going with things today, you will still struggle with some games at high res but then again most of us do;)
     
  3. manley

    manley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you can overclock the quad and with the new graphics card you will have one fast system
     
  4. irradiated

    irradiated
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Workington
    Ratings:
    +21
    lots of differing factors to consider, which mobo you going to use, type of hdd, speed of ram etc it will all make that little bit of difference ;)

    id suggest 'at least' a 9800/250 geforce gfx card, i run a 275 which looks very nice in all the games ive tried so far but like everything pc related, there soon outdated

    also make sure you have a reasonable quality psu, i'd suggest 700 watts for a little bit of buffer and future upgrades
    extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp this might help with psu requirements ;)
     
  5. crossbow

    crossbow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,832
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    S Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Nomis1, another thing to consider is the space available to fit a 4850/4870 - these can be 9-10 inches long, & take up 2-3 slots breadthwise.

    Why this particlar system may I ask? Not too much info to be found about it - i.e. the motherboard used, space available for the graphics card, does it use a standard-sized PSU, etc.

    If you overclock the CPU, you'll need a reasonable good cooler too - the better ones are quite large.
     
  6. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,660
    you dont know what PSU is there already and you dont really need to go that higher power rating

    i often see the Corsairs ~520W PSUs recommended to run all sorts of things - just have a look around in the threads
     
  7. mt12

    mt12
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Specs are too vague..

    - What kid of RAM? DDR2? DDR3? CAS latency?
    - What kind of HDD? Cache? Seek time? 5400/7200rpm?
     
  8. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,660
    it will be DDR2 due to the processor i expect

    but it doesnt really matter as neither HDDs or RAM is a huge power hog though of course they are needed and must be factored in

    it can be assumed that as the OP hasnt posted another question or asked for more info in this thread that his question has been answered - this is quite an old and dead thread you have dug up
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice