Thoughts - GRANDVIEW CYBER SERIES FIXED FRAME or SAPPHIRE SFSC266 FIXED FRAME screen?

Secondhand

I'm new to the projector world and a little overwelmed.

I've looked online but not in person, the Grandview Cyber Series 16:9 120" and the Sapphire SFSC266 121" screens. Both fixed for my deadicated cinema room. I'm looking at purchasing the Epsom 9400 and will mainly use it for gaming (4k, 60FPS) and movies.

I'm a little scared at the quality of the picture as I have a LG 55" OLED tv I use everyday but understand it cannot compete with an OLED.

Is there a clear winner between these two screens? The Grandview is roughly £400 more expensive but I'm unsure. Would the extra £400 be well spent on the Grandview or really not noticable. Also, if anyone has a better projector screen they'd recommend?

Many thanks.

mikemag

Distinguished Member
I have the Sapphire screen, used in a dedicated room, and apart from it being a bit more of an aerobic workout than I wanted stretching the screen material onto the studs on the frame I have no complaints at all, it’s a great piece of kit and far better than the cheaper Elite screen it replaced.

7F5E3BF0-7AB5-4C26-A525-DEA5B576030D.jpeg

Secondhand

That looks like a beautiful room. How far back are your seats from your screen? Also, are you side surrounds in line with your seating?

mikemag

Distinguished Member
The main seating is about 230cm back from the screen and the surrounds are in line with it:

308E369D-6E4A-4D9F-A6A5-8F14B954D70E.jpeg

I saw in the Epson thread you were having doubts about the 9400, don’t, I had one in a previous setup and for the two and a half years I owed it there were no issues at all and it produced a fantastic image. The only advice I’d give you is, if at all possible have it professionally calibrated after it’s out a few hours on the lamp.

Secondhand

The main seating is about 230cm back from the screen and the surrounds are in line with it:

View attachment 1627314