• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Thorens TD 166 MK II VS Rega RP1

tomos watson

Novice Member
ok so iv had a Thorens TD 166 MK II for about a year. It was my first turntable for my 20th birthday.
This month i'm upgrading my amp and speakers as iv been using a crappy old pioneer sa-420 amp i got for £20 and some old beat up tannoy m 15 speakers that don't sound great.

I'm probably going the get the Marantz PM5004 amp from richer sounds its on sale for £154

And some Q Acoustics 2020i speakers with some stands - i'm not 100 percent decided on speakers yet as i haven't heard them yet but they are in my budget and have read good reviews. around £160 in richer sounds

My question is i got the Thorens used and i'm no expert on turntables and i don't even know if i have the arm set up right with the weight etc
It has a nagaoka mp11 cart on it which came with it.
i replaced the belt to a genuine thorens one but that's all iv done since buying it and i just play it the way it came when i purchased it so i'm not sure if i'm getting the most out of it.

i was wondering when i upgrade my amp and speakers would i be better off buying a brand new Rega RP1 with performance pack and selling my thorens or keeping the thorens and maybe replacing the needle or making adjustments to it or maybe looking into setting the arm properly.

The rega seems a lot simpler to me with regards to setting up the arm and just in general and obviously i would be buying new so wouldn't have any worries that anything needs tweaking or looking at/servicing but i'm guessing the Thorens is a better turntable?

so keep the thorens or sell and get a brand new Rega?
sorry for babbling
any advice would be appreciated

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member