Thomson Box- is it a refurb?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Fubar7, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. Fubar7

    Fubar7
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had HD installed on Tuesday 3rd, installer attempted a Samsung box first but was faulty so went out to van and came back with a Thomson box, was unboxed with just protective wrapping. The Thomson booted up and responded fine, I asked him if it was a refurb or not as wanted to make sure I got a brand new box as I paid my £49 + £30 install fee, he said brand new and I left it at that.
    Yesterday while watching Sky1 HD the box turned off by itself, pressed the sky button and it came back on again after about 30 secs. I'm starting to get worried about it now, the model number is 607120Y, has got the component output on the back aswell.
    Should I be entitled to a brand new box as I've paid the upgrade fee for existing customers, been with sky for 5 years now with Sky+.
     
  2. Boon72

    Boon72
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +104
    dont quote me but im sure they stopped making them a while back
     
  3. Fubar7

    Fubar7
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else have an opinion on this?
     
  4. ahaydock

    ahaydock
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +177
    I was under the impression that Sky only had refurb Thompson boxes now.

    At the end of the day it sounds like it is not working so another new one is needed.
     
  5. Fubar7

    Fubar7
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, it's only done it once since, but would be really annoyed if starts happening more often so will give sky a call to see what they can do. How long does it normally take for them to come and replace a box?
     
  6. ahaydock

    ahaydock
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +177
    I would just claim it is doing it lots and you need a new box if you dont want the Thompson.

    I think it depends upon local availability - round here they are normally out within a few days.
     
  7. Fubar7

    Fubar7
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Started doing it more so organised a service call and they swapped it out for a samsung box, wow, sooo much better, smoother FF and RW and I reckon it's a better picture aswell.
     
  8. derek500

    derek500
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +497
    The model number is software related. It's the Version number which dates the box. What is that?
     
  9. simon194

    simon194
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,807
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +221
    If it's has component outs then it's it'll be more than 12 months old but I can't remember when the components disappeared from the Thomson boxes.
     
  10. Fubar7

    Fubar7
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sky bloke said it was a refurb and wondered why it was put in as a first box, he replaced it with a new samsung though so I'm quite happy now.:thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...