1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thomson 32w643, vertical bands

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Pug72, Aug 31, 2004.

  1. Pug72

    Pug72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +311
    I have had this set a week now and am almost happy with it.

    Geometry isn't top notch but passable.

    DVD via PS is stunning. Sky is as good/bad as I expected and the xbox is also stunning.

    The only problem I have is dark vertical bands/smears the length of the screen.

    They aren't noticeable on non-moving pictures, but when there is movement on dark scenes they become apparent. This happens with all sources, PS RGB and the front composite.

    What is it?

    Is it easily sorted?

    What about leaving the set with a static bright image for a while?

    Will it sort itself out? What actually is it?

    I may be able to live with it but would love to remove it.

    I really don't want to go through the hassle of repacking the set and getting it replaced just in case the replacement is the same.

    Cheers.
     
  2. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +135
    I found this only happened (again only very rarely) when the brightness was way up... once I had calibrated it properly.. I have never seen them since...also I have pretty much sorted the geometry with fiddling in the setup menus.. took a while but its nearly perfect...

    Matt
     
  3. Pug72

    Pug72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +311
    I've tried everything from bright settings to dark settings and they are still there.

    Trying to ignore it but can't.

    Could you give an idea of your settings so I could try them please.

    Thanks.
     
  4. SimonY

    SimonY
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried turning down or even off 'Expand Contrast'?
     
  5. Pug72

    Pug72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +311

    Unless it's possible to turn it off in the service menu, you can only choose low, medium or high.

    Is this in the service menu? Will it fix it?
     
  6. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +135
    I set contrast expand to low, noise reduction off and the custom settings to approx :

    Colour 50%
    brightness 50%
    Contrast 70%

    HTH

    Matt
     

Share This Page

Loading...