This may be a stupid question...

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by vic flange, Sep 11, 2007.

1. vic flange

vic flange

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    but I'm new to home cinema so bear with me.

After totally remodelling our living room, we've gone all minimal. Nothing but 2 sofas and a small cupboard with the HC bits in, and the plasma wall-mounted. We love the new look, very clean, but have a problem relating to DVD's. We've got 250+ of them, but don't want to store them in the lounge, they'd take up loads of space and spoil all our clean lines. No room anywhere else to put them, so they're currently in the loft :thumbsdow

So I was wondering if it's able to buy something that works like a cross between sky+ and an iPod for DVD's? Copy all the DVD's onto a huge hard-drive, then access them like computer files rather than needing the discs. This would be connected via either SCART or HDMI, as I've got a spare lead for each chased behind the wall. Obviously, it would need to output the pictures in the same quality as a DVD player, plus 5.1 sound too.

Can anyone recommend anything?

Thanks in advance. :smashin:

2. Jonesybones

Jonesybones
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you are willing to spend a bit of money on a (media) pc with a decent graphics card, good sound card, a decent dvd drive (+ software) and alot of memory, you shouldn't have any problems. That way you can also access the internet (internet movies anyone?) and play music too...

If you are into a bit of DIY, and want to fully customise the spec to your personal requirement ( whilst still keeping the costs to a minimum) then try this: http://www.trustedreviews.com/multimedia/review/2006/07/27/Build-Your-Own-Media-PC/p1

Alternatively just go to dell and buy one from them

3. betty02

betty02

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2