1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

This device cannot start. (Code 10)

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by RecordablDVDfan, Sep 11, 2004.

  1. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    I have a JVC D-31 camcorder but no way can I get the thing to connect to my pc with XP pro. All I get in devbice manger is :-

    This device cannot start. (Code 10)

    I can get it to work with an SP2 version of windows on a old Thinkpad laptop (firewire PCMCIA card) I do not wish to update to SP2 on my main pc. There must be an Microsoft fix on this (not that I can find one) as I've read others having similar problems. Can anyone help please ?
     
  2. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    Probably not much use to you but I had the same error in device manager for a DVD writer a little while back.

    It turned out to be some new DVD authoring software I had installed that was causing a conflict with other burning programs & the writer.
     
  3. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,718
    Have you tried the firewire card manufacturer's site for an updated driver?
     
  4. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    It's a texas instrments make, looked on the TI site but nothiong on there it seems. XP should find and install this withot problems so I guess it's the card in some way ?
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    I can't remember if it was JVC, but I seem to remember reading that there were problems with firewire cards with the TI chip set and a certain make of camcorder. Might be worth getting another (non TI) firewire card to try.

    Mark.
     
  6. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    The Canopus ADVC-100 used to have problems with some older TI firewire cards. Newer generations should be Ok though.
     
  7. Crocodile

    Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    15,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,718
    I doubt that that card is made by TI, just the chipset. If the card itself doesn't have a manufacturers name on it, it may have a model number printed on it. A Google search on this model number or on the TI chipset number may throw up a manufacturer who may in turn have a driver.
     
  8. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    That's what I meant

    :lesson:
    I must be clearer in my replies......
    I must be clearer in my replies.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...