Thinking of upgrading to SKY+ ?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by tones1966, Jul 2, 2005.

  1. tones1966

    tones1966
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If your an existing Sky customer and are looking to upgrade to SKY+ then read on !.
    I have been a sky subscriber for over 8 years and have had the most expensive package from day one. I saw an advert the other day offering the SKY+ box for £89, so I rang sky to order the box. I was put through to a call centre in India and was told (NOT in plain English) that I was not entitled to that deal as it was for new customers only ! I would have to pay the full price of £199. I argued that this was ridiculous, as I am a loyal custome why do I have to pay £110 more than a new customer ? I was then passed to another Indian who told me that when I first purchased Sky 8 years ago, I got my box for nothing and if they gave me this deal I would be benefiting twice from SKY !!!!
    I threatened to cancel my subscription and was then passed to yet another Indian. After explaining why I wanted to cancel, he put me through to...........the UK callcentre !!! I again explained my argument and was immediately offered the SKY+ box for £89 with free installation. I decided to push my luck and said that I still wanted my subscription cut off when my next payment is due. The operator then said " Obviously we dont want to lose you as a loyal customer, and as a gesture of goodwill, we can offer you the SKY+ box for £49 including free installation. Please dont tell anyone about this !"
    As if I would !!!!!

    So...if your looking to upgrade....phone up and do the same as me. Stick to your guns, and I guarantee you will get it for a decent price !

    Tony.
     
  2. MartinH32

    MartinH32
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,706
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Castleford
    Ratings:
    +296
    I had similar. Customer from day one on digital. Box went bang a couple of years back and they would not let me have another. After many cancelation threats I got a new box without any stipulations on signing for another twelve month. I reckon it must have cost me that in phone calls though!! :rolleyes:
     
  3. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    Is the £49 box one of the refurbished duff boxes though. :rolleyes:
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The £49 offer is for a refurbished box, but they all work.
     
  5. The Fulwell

    The Fulwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +12
    Not according to the bloke who fitted my Sky+ system recently :thumbsdow

    He reckoned that a large amount of his (sub-contracted) work is replacing duff refurbished boxes.
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well I and a number of other people in these forums have had these boxes with no problems, and they have the same warranty as a new one.
     
  7. madcyril

    madcyril
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +94
    If I ugraded to Sky+ and used my old sky box upstairs could I use the normal aerial cable and connect it into the quad lnl as the upstairs cables are int the wall and I dont want another cable into the bedroom,if that make sense.
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    That would depend on the quality of cable used in the aerial installation. If it's cheap stuff without a copper foil screen, then probably NO.
     
  9. madcyril

    madcyril
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +94
    Thanks for the quick reply.Im gonna try for the £49 upgrade tomorrow anyway.The STB's do have SVHS so I can connect to my amp dont they.
     
  10. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    All Sky+ boxes have s-video out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...