1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

thinking of TH42PWD4 - help!

Discussion in 'TVs' started by IGADHIA, Jun 3, 2002.

1. IGADHIA

IGADHIA

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    some questions I would really appreciate if you guys could help me clear them up. (i am a newbie for plasmas!)

1. prices differences between 50 and 42 inch version. is it worth it for the extra 8? is there a decent priced 50'' out there for around 5-5.5k ish?

2. The connections. so how does this work? on the screen or via a tuner box? what about if I wanted sky digital coneected to display as well as DVD player? high quality connections available? what about if I want to connect my Imac to the big display?

so many questions!

thanks for all your help!

( you guys heard of company 'digital direct' ! they have offered TH42PWD4 to me for 3600 all in!! seems good no? anything that I should be careful of?)

thanks again

2. NeilS

NeilS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi,

I haven't seen the 50" version so couldn't really comment further than it's a lot more money!

Connection wise, the display has 1 VGA port, the BNC card which should be supplied with it has a further component/rgb, s-video and composite video connection.

It's well worth investing it an RGB to VGA convertor (about £120)for things like Sky/Itv digital as this leaves the component connections free for a DVD player.

Be aware that if you plug anything into the s-video port the compsite video port is disabled, this should only be a problem if you're using the RBG input which requires synch in composite video i.e. direct cable from a scart connector (Buy an RGB->VGA convertor!).

£3600 sounds like a good price to me though I haven't been watching the prices recently - does it include a wall bracket?

Neil

3. IGADHIA

IGADHIA

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0