1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinking of going Sky Plus

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Dextur, Sep 15, 2004.

  1. Dextur

    Dextur
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    10,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,742
    Just wondered a couple of issues with Sky+ boxes

    1) Do they rely on bog standard scart or do they have a proper component connection I can plumb into my Denon AV3801?

    2) Presumably they do support TOS or Coaxial digital audio

    3) When you record a programme is it clever enough to kill off the adverts or does it record the lot

    4) Where's the cheapest place right now to get a reasonable box and installation, I think i have seen it on the sky site for £99, free installation, and no fee as long as subcribed to more than one premium channel.
    http://www.ordersky.com/equipment/skyplus.asp

    Cheers folks
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    1) RGB scart, composite scart, s-video and RF, no component.
    2) TOS
    3) Records the lot.
    4) SKY direct unless you can find an authorised agent that will match the deal.
     
  3. Dextur

    Dextur
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    10,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,742
    Great stuff, thanks very much.

    No component - bah!!!

    Cheers for the info
     
  4. hektic

    hektic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +8
    Simon,

    I have not bought one yet but I know http://www.keene.co.uk/
    do a little scart to component converter for £5 inc vat :)

    Cheers
     
  5. Dextur

    Dextur
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    10,139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,742
    Yeah but that's only for the purpose of connectivity choices , if it has to go via scart at some point you will lose the component quality ..

    Not a big deal really, RGB scart should be pretty good, I just prefer component where the equipment has it installed.
     
  6. applevenus

    applevenus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    would there be any real advantage to having component seeing as the video is compressed anyway ?
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Component has it's uses on DVD players that can output progressive scan and DVD's use exactly the same compression as SKY's broadcasts so in that regard the material being transferred is irrelevant:)

    I would say component is just a more convienent method when integrating AV gear especially when using an amp for switching, not many amps with scart inputs and after all RGB and component are not that different in what they are doing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...