Thinking of going digital

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by RHardaker, Oct 11, 2002.

1. RHardaker

RHardaker

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm thinking of going digital via a set top box (not Sky or Cable). I know a few people who had ITV digital and complained of the boxes locking up and bad pixelation (despite good location to transmitters etc.). Do these problems still exists with the current free to air services. Are there any particular boxes to avoid? I've seen the Pace ones in Argos and some Nokia ones in Curries.
    I pick up very a very good analogue signal from Emley Moor (a large main transmitter) so I am not expecting problems with the digital signal. Can I distribute the signal to other TVs?
    Are there any other things I should consider.
    Thanks for any help.

.Richard (A newbie here).

2. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,851
    I, too live within good range of Emley.

Originally I had a Nokia box from ITV-D (was On-D). Utterly dreadful. Locked up requiring reset 2-3 times a week - don't ever ask it to do anything at all (including changing channels) with 2 minutes of power up, nor within 30 seconds of the last thing you asked it to do. Every time any electrical appliance was switched on/off, pixellation and audio break up. AFAIK, the Nokias on sale at Dixons et al are all the same model. If so, AVOID.

I currently have a Pace 735 and a Pioneer (both ex-ITV-D boxes). These work just fine. I retuned them both yesterday and now have 55 channels (mostly 'coming soon' only). If you can find one of these on sale at, say, £50/£60 I'd say they are a good buy. They have 2 Scarts and a recording timer. Most useful. One caveat - they may not work with some forthcoming enhanced interactive-type services, but they will receive the channels.