Thinking of buying a 4k TV, need help with surround sound?

Chezz

Novice Member
Hi guys, first post on this website.

Basically I've recently started renting a property and was looking into buying a 4K television, specifically the LG 55LA965W (I'll provide a link at the bottom) and I was a little unsure on setting up surround sound with it. Would the standard 5.1 Surround Sound system suffice? I've seen a couple of "4K surround sound" systems online and wasn't sure of the differences between a 4k surround sound system and a standard 5.1 surround sound system. Also if any of you could recommend any systems for me that would be much appreciated, I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to home cinema systems, I would just love to be able to set one up in my home.

Thanks a lot for the help

Chezz

Link to the 4k TV - LG 55LA965W Smart 3D 4k Ultra HD 55" LED TV Deals | Pcworld

Its not so much that you need 4k Surround Sound but the AVR (AV Receiver/Amplifier) has to be able to handle 4K video. As the source (BluRay, SKy etc ) plugs into teh amplifier via HDMI and then onto the TV.

Though obviously Sky and standard BluRay players arent 4k however the right AVR Amps can upscale to 4K.

An example of one we recommend with our installations is a Yamaha RX775 (£395 on offer at some retailers) and Focal Dome 5.1 Speakers at £699

I would advise avoiding the all-in-one packages that include BluRay, Amplifier and Speakers as speakers are generally poor with these.

dante01

Distinguished Member