Thinking about getting Nevo from Ebay

Sab

I am thinking about getting a Nevo from Ebay. I have a Pronto 980 but the buttons have worn and is not compatible with my current laptop.

Is there anything I need to know about its disadvantages?

I will have to do all the programming myself. I need something that works with a Windows PC running 32bit Vista Home Premium.

Is programming difficult on the Nevo software?

Would you recommend it to me?

Crustyloafer

Distinguished Member
Is there anything I need to know about its disadvantages?

You can't run prontoscript modules on it and the NevoLink remote extender for the older NevoSL is not very good, the Nevo Connect extender for the newer Q50 and S70 remotes is much better.

I will have to do all the programming myself. I need something that works with a Windows PC running 32bit Vista Home Premium

It will work just fine on Vista. I am a professional installer and programmer of Nevo remotes and have been doing so on Vista for a couple of years now.

Is programming difficult on the Nevo software?

That's really a very subjective question of which the answer depends on you aptitude to programming remotes in general in the first place. Overall it is very easy to use in my opinion.

Would you recommend it to me?

Only if you are prepared to do so with aboslutely zero support from Nevo, the UK distributor and any dealers. The Nevo SL is supposed to be a dealer supplied/installed product only and therefore you will not get any support from anyone in the industry if you encounter any issues.

Sab

Crustyloafer - if I buy from Ebay I guess I will have to programme the Nevo remote control button by button from all my remotes?

Do dealers have access to a database online that has the remote control devices already programmed?

I guess I will not be able to access the online website for support or pre-programmed remote control devices.