1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinkin of upgrading amp

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by manhar, Aug 28, 2004.

1. manhar

manhar
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    My integrated amp is a Pioneer A 400 about 12 years old. Cost me £ 250 at the time. Will upgrading to a newer amp within £500 give me a vastly improved sound or should I stick with this? My son says amps havent changed all that much within a given price range and that I may be disappointed with an upgrade.

2. Daneel

Daneel

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Even though I have no experience of the A 400, I'd guess your son is correct.

3. RichardG

RichardG

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    Absolutely not! Keep hold of it! Head over to the Hifi Choice Forums for reasons why this amp is STILL a giant killer. If you really want improvements, don't change it, but get Tom Evans to modify it and wipe the smiles off the faces of all the Naim lovers out there!

And no I don't have one myself before anyone gets their fanboy gloves off. But I do have fully Evans'ed A300 Precision so I am a LITTLE bit biased! ;)

I use it to drive the front two speakers (B&WCDM9NT) with Pioneer 2011 processing and drive the centre and rears (and it's all lovely!)

Good luck with Mr Evans, you won't regret it!

Rich

4. manhar

manhar
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Many thanks for your reassurances folks.
    RichardG please tell me how to get to Tony Evans.

5. RichardG

RichardG

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
  6. Chrisp7091

Chrisp7091

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4