1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Theatretek question

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by onewingedangel, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. onewingedangel

    onewingedangel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +29
    When they release new patchs or builds, do you have to pay to upgrade? eg. 2.1 should be out soon, and if I got 2.06 now at £40 or whatever it is, would I not be able to upgrade to 2.1 without paying extra.
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Past experience says not, 1.5 was a free update to 1.2 and I think it inconceivable Andrew would charge for 2.1, not least because of the ropey start 2.0 had.
     
  3. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,202
    Yeah I doubt there will be any charge until a version 3 appears .
     
  4. onewingedangel

    onewingedangel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +29
    Just as an aside, do you think theatretek is worth getting, over say the nvidia dvd decoder, and using the free version of zoomplayer? £10 vs £40 is a big jump.
     
  5. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,165
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,202
    I suspect quality wise they will be somewhat similar but Theatertek is more user friendly at least initially.
     
  6. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201


    Isn't the Nvidia decoder £12 + another £12 for Zoom Player
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yes you're right, the free version of ZP doesn't support DVD playback, you need the paid-for 'Pro' version for that.
     
  8. onewingedangel

    onewingedangel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +29
    the nvidia decoder is about £12, zoomplayer comes in various forms, a free one, a $20 pro, and $30 pro with wmv cp support. I thought the free version may be good enough for dvd playback, but getting the pro + nvidia decoder is still quite a bit cheaper than getting theatretek. Whether its worth getting TT for convenience sake though...
     
  9. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Is the Nvidia decoder worth £12 though compared to the competition?

    I might try the 30 day download to find out.

    Zoom player is pretty buggy but does the job most of the time.
     
  10. Zig

    Zig
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried the Zoomplayer pro and the nvidia codecs both on trial. I wanted to use ffdshow as well but struggled to get them working well after many hours of trying. I bought TT and it was very simple to configure and runs fine with ffdshow with no hassle.
    Much less stress to go TT, it was worth it for this alone for me.
     
  11. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    One problem that I've seen mentioned is that until you activate TT (and hence the codecs) they're not intended to be used outside of TT and thus nVidia make it hard to do so.

    ZP is way better for the inveterate twiddler .. an ideal tool to use FFDSHOW with, with so many options available in both there's no excuse whatsoever for having to actually WATCH a movie. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...