1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Theatertek

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by DustySox, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. DustySox

    DustySox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi everyone,

    Couple of questions-

    I have used DVD shrink, and running "shrunk/modified" film through Theatertek, causes the film not to run and locks up Theatertek (vers 1.5**). Any thoughts on this?

    How would I go about loading, for example Pearl & Dean ad everytime Theatertek boots up?

    Another question, does Windows media player support Dolby Digital? And can it play box standard DVD's?

    Kind regards

    Darren
     
  2. HarshKarma

    HarshKarma
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    WMP can't play DVD's, you need to buy an addon decoder.
     
  3. HarshKarma

    HarshKarma
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Forgot to say...

    The PowerDVD addon only does 2 channel (or used to). Looks like the nvidia and intervideo both support DD (in addition to downmixing to 2 channel) but check before you buy.
     
  4. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,626
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +66
    Theatertek 2 supports WMV playback for sure. However, with TT2 and PowerDVD 5 or 6 you need to "BUY" the extra audio codecs for anything more that 2 channel analogue.

    I rip loads of films with Shrink 3.2 and use TT and have no such problems.

    If you "dump" all the extras and the audio tracks you do not need and even the end of film credits you'll save a couple of gb's each time. Just the film in it's uncompressed glory.

    I'm still working on random trailers though..........
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Darren,

    Like Embarker, I've run 'shrunk' DVDs through TT 1.5 and 2.0 for a long time without any problems, I think there's something specific to your system or maybe the version of DVD Shrink or options you're using that are unusual.

    What version of Shrink are you using?

    For sound, are you wanting the PC to do the decoding or simply send digital audio to a receiver? SPD/IF Pass-Through should work on any DVD player I would think.
     
  6. DustySox

    DustySox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi,

    Thanks for your replys. I am using shrink 3.2. I managed to get Theatertek to play a "shrunk" film, yippee! Then a few days later it locked up, I'll re look at the resulting video_TS file again. Strange really as it plays in Power DVD ok.

    Darren
     

Share This Page

Loading...