1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Theatertek website problems?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by esta56, Nov 28, 2003.

  1. esta56

    esta56
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Grays, Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    Is it just my internet connection (Blueyonder - Cable Broadband) or does anyone find access to Theatertek's website intermittent?

    I've been trying to get the site up for the last hour but to no avail. I've noticed this before, some days I can get access and then other days, no joy.:(
     
  2. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Have just tried it and it works fine for me via my BT ADSL line.

    Cheers, Lee
     
  3. helipilot

    helipilot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +19
    For some reason blueyonder can be a complete pain when trying to access the Theatertek web site.

    In internet explorer go to tools......internet options ........connections .......lan settings.

    tick the box to use a proxy server and enter the following :-


    address :- webcache.blueyonder.co.uk

    port :- 8080


    That should get you up and running !
     
  4. esta56

    esta56
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Grays, Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    :clap: Yey! It worked.

    Thanks Helipilot. I have no idea what you got me to do though. Could you explain why I couldn't get in before and now I can?
     
  5. helipilot

    helipilot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +19

    Nope! not 100 per cent.

    When you use a proxy server to point to a web cache the following situation arises :-

    When you try to access a web page the cache is checked to see if the page you have requested has been requested before. If it has, it is transfered from the cache to you. If it has not been requested before the cache is bypassed and the page requested is downloaded direct from the site you requested. This means that if you want to download a page from a slow server it can be retrieved quickly from the cache (a very fast server). Webcache is basically a big buffer that stores frequently requested web pages. Its supposed make your browsing much faster although sometimes it does not.

    I can only assume that the theatertek web site is hosted on a lousy server or that its often offline.

    hope that helps, maybe someone else has a better explanation ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...