Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Theatertek << multi region ??

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Jack Bowyer, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. Jack Bowyer

    Jack Bowyer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I want to buy Theatertek but unsure what program to use to make it multi region ?? (1&2 i want..)

    I 've just downloaded DVD Genie but can only see support for ones like WinDVD or PowerDVD etc

    I hear Theatertek is one of the best for picture second by WinDVD maybe ???

    Can someone help me...
    Thanks

    Jack
     
  2. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +32
  3. iansimpson888

    iansimpson888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Standish
    Ratings:
    +179
    Same as above
    Works a treat
     
  4. paulS

    paulS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Messages:
    281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've always used DVD Genie & TheaterTek.
    Never had a problem (after unlocking the DVD drive firmware).

    Paul.
     
  5. DrPepper

    DrPepper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Barking Essex
    Ratings:
    +264
  6. potfish

    potfish
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    Not tried Theatertek but I use AnyDVD from Slysoft.com. Works for all the software I've tried and no need to hack the drive.
     
  7. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,055
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,177
    I don't use anything for TT - just my firmware hack for the drive itself. I thought TheaterTek was region independent anyway?
     
  8. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,180
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,721
    When I tried it, it installed it's own region free software so you didn't have to find your own.

    Unfortunately it did something to my existing Region Killer software which meant I couldn't watch RCE disks via PowerDVD.

    As I couldn't see any difference between PDVD5 and TT, I uninstalled it and got a refund. I had to roll back to before the install date for my system to operate correctly with DVDs again though.

    Gary.
     
  9. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +32
    Theater Tek is - its your DVD drive that isn't usually.
     
  10. Jack Bowyer

    Jack Bowyer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the come-back...
    Went for DVD Region Killer in the end - works just fine.

    Can anybody tell me what "AutoKiller" does from TheaterTek its in my startup reg ??

    Thanks

    Jack
     
  11. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,180
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,721
    I think that's it's own region killer software. It was probably that that caused my RCE problems with PDVD after it was installed.

    Gary
     
  12. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,055
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,177
    autokiller is used to stop dvds that autorun with PCfriendly and other such programs.
     
  13. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,180
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,721
  14. Donnacha

    Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,055
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +4,177
    your welcome Gary
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice