1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The SVM OFF Project - for expert only

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by aliasnow, Apr 7, 2004.

  1. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, at this point I started a project called 'SVM off' and 'The way for picture paradise'

    Targets:
    disable SVM on FX66 / FQ70 / FX68 <--- current
    enhance of the picture and gray scale
    gowhere images never been before ;)

    Hot to:
    with help of some expert-brave power user or technician/engineer team

    Where:
    in a restricted room without possibility that some other user can read our experiments and do some stupid thing with service menus

    How to enter in this room:
    write me a PM

    And after?
    If everything go well, we post all we discovered here, on avforums.com

    NO NEWBIE please!
    see you :hiya:
     
  2. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Rather busy at the moment but promise I'll have a good look at this as soon as I can.
     
  3. nd4spd

    nd4spd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you kind sir:) .

    Vali
     
  4. Maki

    Maki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Overton Morecambe
    Ratings:
    +12
    It would be great if information for the KV36FS76U were also to be made available. The only thing spoiling the total enjoyment of this great TV is SVM!
     
  5. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you may help if you have some technical experience
     
  6. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As I read some other people interested in disabling SVM.
    We are working for this, meanwhile I repeat, if some good
    technician feels good can help us in the reach of this goal.

    One think I'm without is the FULL service manual of the 32-FX68
    I have of FX66 and LS60, I think SVM board of FX68 is same as FX66 but I must be sure. If someone has it, please contact me.

    I'm waiting my copy of DVE now,
    another big target is reach the white level at 6500K.
    some found in an utility flashlight a low-power little bulb close enough, but it's not more available.
    some other source known?

    see you soon
     
  7. Paul Atreides

    Paul Atreides
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any closer to a "VM Off" TT code for the FX66?
     
  8. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry,

    no TT code exists for permanent disabling of SVM.
    it's necessary disconnect SVM board, I'm in study of
    schematics now.

    however, some arrogant genius declared that he did it
    without difficult, we'll see soon. ;)
     
  9. fatbob

    fatbob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I disabled SVM on my Sony KV28FX20 by removing the back cover and cutting a wire on the SVM board. Locating the correct wire to cut wasn't difficult as it's easily located and the wire itself is conveniently marked "SVM".

    I was a bit worried that I may have done something that would ruin the set, but the tv has now been SVM free since November 1999 and still performs flawlessly.

    It is a bit nerve wracking going inside a tv and cutting wires, but I'd researched disabling this "feature" and was determing to rid my tv of it.

    The FX20 is an early Sony Wega, so I can't say that disabling SVM on a modern Sony will be as easy as it was on my set.

    Why can't Sony give us the option to turn SVM off in the user menu, like they do on many of their American tv's :mad: .
     
  10. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In fact, cutting SVM cable keep SVM board amplifier under +135V,
    as I can see on schematics.
    MP (MProcessor) still trigger out SVM signal, so everything is still as is but board OUT can't reach neck assy.
    Best would be preserve by-pass connection on SVM board, leave this without power source, disconnect IN/OUT trigger signal, well OUT is very easy, INPUT we must set MP that SVM is NOT present. That's when you select VMLevel or VM Off via service menu? Same MP can be used for sets have not VM enabled, or just for some settings. There's a software way, and an hardware way, well we can't manage software, but hardware... :p
     
  11. Paul Atreides

    Paul Atreides
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only cut the VM wire and that works fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you Paul,
    now I know SVM can be deactivated
    but I don't think I did the same you did

    I relased the topic of project I started, and
    my little study can be found at my website

    borndevil forum - SVM topic

    Pics are just too big to be posted here.
    Now for Step 2 I need to calibrate color decoder,
    it's not easy as I can't have a good response
    through green filter of DVE and I have blue
    smearing as posted here
     
  13. Paul Atreides

    Paul Atreides
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't want to disconnect any plugs because it might loosen the cathode connection (C Board).
    I was also paranoid about causing an implosion by snapping the neck.
     
  14. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didnt understant this thing of the cathode connection and implosion... maybe my english... :)
     
  15. Paul Atreides

    Paul Atreides
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cathodes are the filaments that create the RGB electron beam at the back of the neck.

    Implosion = Opposto da Esplosione
     
  16. aliasnow

    aliasnow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Understood what you mean.
    It may be a possibility, but you need to slip over the neck! ;)
    Well, I comprend your "fear"
     

Share This Page

Loading...