The Sky engineer called

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by friely, Mar 20, 2006.

  1. friely

    friely
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Darlington
    Ratings:
    +8
    The Sky engineer called today to replace my V1 sky+ as it went tits up
    He replaced it with a V3 and commented on my set up Samsung LE32R41B
    SONY DD/DTS AMP and my XBOX 360.

    He said that we were HD READY so the question was asked "when is HD COMING THEN?."

    He replied "OHHH I WOULD LAY OFF IT FOR A FEW MONTHS SKY IS HAVING LOADS OF PROBLEM WITH THOMSON AS THE BOX OVER HEATS WITHIN 2 WEEKS OF THE INSTALL"

    We said "OHHHHH"

    He said "THE ENGINEERS HATE THEM AND DON'T WANT TO INSTALL THEM UNTIL THE BUGS ARE FIXED BECAUSE THEY WILL GET IT IN THE NECK":oops: :eek:
     
  2. Howard Pitfield

    Howard Pitfield
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    815
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +17
    Come the revolution Thomson will be first up against the wall then ....:devil:

    H
     
  3. czytt

    czytt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Essex (someone has to)
    Ratings:
    +40
    This seems a little unlikely. Thompson make the Sky+160 box, and the HD box can't be all that different. A bigger HD and MPEG4 support are about the only real differences. Can these cause such an overheating problem?

    Or am I missing someting?

    Jerry
     
  4. mark800

    mark800
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,351
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +2,240
    Could be. MPEG4 is a LOT more processor-intensive than MPEG2.
     
  5. GBDG1

    GBDG1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,260
    Why woldn't they just copy the technology from their other HD operations all over the world?
     
  6. wandersen

    wandersen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    This actually seems like a decent piece of information. I think we all know that Sky wanted to get HD out before now, but that they were having problems with a piece of the equation.

    What boxes do they use for premiere in Germany ?
     
  7. satinder

    satinder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +11
    After reading the powerpoint presntation on SkyHD i was wondering if the box would be a problem, it has 2 fans
    apparently so if its still overheating is there a major design flaw?

    Sat
     
  8. daKlone

    daKlone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    42
    Ratings:
    +19
    Pace DS-810 and Humax PR-HD1000, apparently. It'd be handy if I could read German :)
     
  9. mark800

    mark800
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,351
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +2,240
    I guess it all depends where people put them, If it's in the open then all should be well. I suspect quite a few people put them in closed cabinets, maybe on top of other electrical equipment.

    If there is a problem, though, I would have thought that they would have made a very strong point in the powerpoint presentation that was circulated.
     
  10. Fusewire

    Fusewire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +104
    Oh dear sounds like SkyHD is poorly :(

    They must have been aware of overheating issues to have put two fans in it in the first place, guess that 300GB HD and the mpeg4 chip must really knock some heat out. :eek:

    This info doesn't bode well for the launch date does it, and has certainly convinced me to hold off for a while to see what others experiences are. :rolleyes:
     
  11. Liquid101

    Liquid101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    8,142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberystwyth
    Ratings:
    +3,228
    That would explain this then
    :D
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Greggles

    Greggles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St. Saviour, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +74
    So Germany use a nice British (Pace) box and we be stuck with a Thomson (French) box, who's Sky+ box is known to have a loud fan. Am I missing something?
     
  13. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +31
    That was a lot of shouting going on there.....was he on your roof while you were quizing him? :devil:

    I hope this was mis-information.....to have a set-top box overheating sounds like one of the biggest cock-ups in the consumer electrical market ever.
     
  14. friely

    friely
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Darlington
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sorry for the CAPS,
    but the engineer was a man I have fix problems before . He even told me about sootgun cable which was used on the first sky+ setups which I had would need to be replaced for HD because that cable is "crap" They use 2 single cables now for a better signal.
     
  15. mobile1

    mobile1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yup - Sky are based about 5 minutes from Thomson UK - easy to work together (and cost comes into it too!);)
     
  16. RichardBoult

    RichardBoult
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Mine would be surrounded by Carling! ;)
     
  17. PremierGSM

    PremierGSM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    not surprising as PRICE is the biggest factor, sky want to make maximum profit ofcourse so boxes have to be made as cheap as possible, also innovation is harder with only 1 company making the box as others are not competing at the moment. maybe later we will see better boxes from other companys, especially now and FTA are gonna start sening feeds which are not encrypted.

    anyway if they release HD nothing to stop you getting other sat boxes installed such as new HD dreambox or reel multimedia's boxes(btw dont know much on these boxes but i know there around and THINK they can be used for sky+ functions as well as sticking in freeview etc decoders too)
     
  18. M-C-P-M

    M-C-P-M
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +107
    The only thing to do is get the first box as and when available, and mod the box buy a couple of bigger fans, its what i did with my PC and that worked a treat! and if within the first year while its still under warranty they fix them, take the fans out and get them to swap it!:clap:
     
  19. Howard Pitfield

    Howard Pitfield
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    815
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +17
    The buttons on the Sky HD box itself are on top of the unit - rather than at the front. Designed to stop people stacking kit on top methinks?

    H
     
  20. Bluevanman

    Bluevanman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  21. renibacterium

    renibacterium
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not quite, they have people, the chosen few, "road testing" HDTV for them. Probably these people reporting back the problems before the intended launch date, has set things back somewhat
     
  22. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    um, they'd know long before they got to testing the boxes in peoples houses if they overheat or not......that would be something done in the factory......given the stakes in this game sky would have insisted on it......

    i wouldnt be surprised if its something to do with signals........mebbe the normal small Sky dish just cant handle multiple HD channels.........

    who knows....who cares, it'll happen when it happens, i'm not a football freak so i'm not fussed if it doesnt appear in time...heh

    wembley wont, why should sky?..lol
     
  23. neiljones

    neiljones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    northwest
    Ratings:
    +13
    Serious house fire in my town last week.

    Cause: Satellite box overheating.

    Under no circumstances could Sky release a defective product that they are not 100% satisfied that it is safe.

    Imagine the repercussions.

    :lesson: :lesson: :lesson:
     
  24. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well..........

    (a) you are assuming that it was a Sky box - there are other satellite boxes out there,

    and

    (b) if it was a Sky box, one fire in 8 million boxes doesn't mean an unsafe product. Do we need to recall all aeroplanes because one crashed ?
     
  25. SagaLout

    SagaLout
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    I used to work for sky sports and still have a few friends there. As staff we were always asked to be early adopters / testers either at cheap/free prices.

    Apparently staff have just been sent questionaires about if they have a HD ready TV and if they want to participate in field trials. Doesnt sound like a release is iminent i the next month or so, although this is only one specific department of sky sports.
     
  26. blakey1

    blakey1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +40
    Seems like we can forget about 1/4 and 12/4 launch then
     
  27. satinder

    satinder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +11
    Some good observation there, people (me included) dont take notice of warnings not to stack boxes ontop of each other so forcing everyone not to is the right idea.

    Sat
     
  28. hysys

    hysys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    they did it with the concorde :devil:

    even if you have a fair point :clap:
     
  29. neiljones

    neiljones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    northwest
    Ratings:
    +13
    NICK UK

    I never suggested or presumed it was a Sky Box
     

Share This Page

Loading...