1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The right Pro DV camera? HELP

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by darklight, Jan 20, 2005.

1. darklight

darklight

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +104
    I'm an independent filmmaker and I'd like to switch camera to a more professional type. Currently I use a basic Panasonic NSdv28b.
    I'll hopefully have a budget of around £2000-£2500 and have heard good reports about the Canon XL series and VX2100. Any suggestions...? :)

2. Roy Mallard

Roy Mallard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    both the xl1s and the vx2100 are good cams, I prefer the XL1s because of the superior audio control and lens quality (though the resolution is a bit lower than the vx2k).

The XL1s is laid out more like a full pro camera, using an EVF rather than an LCD, most of the controls you use lie under the finger on the outside of the body, the sony requires the use of menus more often.

The mic quality ont he XL!s is better, it's isolated from the body and is of a more cardiod type than the sony.

All in, my money is definately on the XL1s.

Also budget for a decent tripod and a case (manfrotto 055 with 128 lp head at very least, most probably a portabrace kit bag ) this will bring to the £2500 mark.

You may be advised to hold off for 6 months (if you can) and see what happens with HDV, the sony FX1 might drop in price (it's a great DV camera, HD is lossy, they may fix this) or other manufacturers may enter the arena.

3. klr10

klr10

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Should be able to get a good price on an XL1s now that the XL2 is out.

4. Roy Mallard

Roy Mallard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep. £2000 on the high street, a good buy

5. darklight

darklight

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: