1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The reciever bit of your reciever.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Ed Selley, May 10, 2004.

?
  1. I regularly use the radio

    19 vote(s)
    26.4%
  2. I connected, tuned it and sometimes use it

    20 vote(s)
    27.8%
  3. Connected it but the aerial has since come down

    6 vote(s)
    8.3%
  4. It has a radio?

    27 vote(s)
    37.5%
  1. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,146
    Whilst dutifully watching the Grand Prix (got me out of mowing the lawn for a bit) I idly noticed the RDS logo on the front of my amp and remembered that the thing has a radio in it. So in fact have my previous three receivers. And I've never plugged them in or used them. This has naturally led me to ask the question, Am I abnormal? (wouldn't be the first time) or are most of us ignoring this feature?
     
  2. tom_nieto

    tom_nieto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use it quite regularly. It's actually quite good on my amp, and I like listening to XFM when I wake up.
     
  3. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    My Denon can receive the traffic broadcasts which is useful when I'm driving it to work :)

    In reality I only listen to the radio whilst driving so it's of no use to me although it's all tuned in and connected to Sky so completely redundant anyway :rolleyes:
     
  4. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    I just voted for the 'connected but since fallen out' option and it is now 4 votes for all the options!
    I did use the radio in the past, but have not had it on for at least a year now. I was behind the system playing with the cabling and noticed the arial cable was laying on the floor, so just as well I wasn't trying to get reception.

    Mark.
     
  5. Docta teef

    Docta teef
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +56
    I have the radio on at work dont think ive listened to it in the car for 12 months or at home for about 2 years i would only have it on at the weekend at home for the football but ive got sky sports news for that anyway.
     
  6. Contar

    Contar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Near London on the M1
    Ratings:
    +1
    I listen to the radio on my Denon every weekday in the morning. Listen for traffic around the M1 and keeps the kids off the cartoon network while getting ready for school.
     
  7. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +85
    I hardly ever use the radio what-so-ever on my yammy I now have or on my old pioneer. I have always connected the radios just for completeness in case I get a sudden urge :D
     
  8. PC Nut

    PC Nut
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    607
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South West
    Ratings:
    +64
    Get rid of the radio and bring the price down or put a more usefull feature in place.
     
  9. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    We used to use the tuner aspect of the receiver much more before Sky Digital came along with it's hundreds of radio stations.

    Having upgraded from a receiver to an amp 18 months ago I bought a seperate tuner which we hardly ever listen to.

    Sometimes we listen to Heart FM whilst eating as the Sky version is the London one and there is nothing more aggravating than listening to the London news, weather and traffic reports when you are fourtunate enough not to have to live iin the region so we listen to Midlands Heart instead.
     
  10. lee789

    lee789
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Good topic - I am currently wanting to upgrade my AMP/Receiver (Yamaha RX592) and have never used the tuner.

    So, when buying all the mags and reading reviews I am looking at both Amps and Amp receivers. All reviews and comparisons treat them as two spearate products and therefore don't often compare amps with amp receivers. This makes my job a bit more difficult when all I'm really interested in is the AMP. Although to be fair most in my price range are amp/receivers

    As they are home cinema amps wouldn't a TV tuner (analogue or digital) be more use ?
     
  11. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    9,993
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +4,214
    I listen to the radio all the time!, quicker and easier, although not as good quality, as the radio channels on Freeview.
     
  12. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,146
    Hooray- looking at the results, I'm not abnormal (at least in the context of AVR tuner use).
     
  13. Docta teef

    Docta teef
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +56
    PC Nut has a good point and to be fair some such as yamaha do offer this as an option
     
  14. lee789

    lee789
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Bump, interested in further replies.
     
  15. ancientgeek

    ancientgeek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A (sony) sky box from ebay will pick up more and better sounding radio channels without a subscription than any included tuner or DAB tuner.

    I haven't used the built in tuner for years. In fact I've only just noticed I haven't got one any more!

    (The sony digibox had the digital out sound).
     
  16. Ettepet

    Ettepet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Messages:
    738
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    I miss the tuner on my amplifier, the almost identical American model has one. :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...